IPL 2018: Chennai Win and Top Points Table

Posted On 01 May, 2018 0

Chennai Super Kings were hosting another game at their new home ground in Pune and they would've been eager to bounce back after losing their last game to Mumbai Indians. Not many times in the history of the Indian Premier League have they lost successive games, and they managed to keep that impressive record going last night.

Delhi Daredevils won the toss and elected to field first, going in with an unchanged team. Chennai, however, made multiple changes, giving Lungi Ngidi his first game and bringing in Faf du Plessis for Sam Billings, along with a couple of other changes. Shane Watson went berserk at the top of the order, making Delhi instantly regret their decision of bowling first.

He smashed 78(40) and missed out on his second century of the season while MS Dhoni and Ambati Rayudu were ideal finishers, scoring 51* and 41 respectively. MSD scored his third fifty of the season and that strike rate of 231.82 proved once again that he still has the magic in him. Chennai posted a massive total of 211/4.

Chasing 200+ in a T20 is never easy but Delhi would've been hopeful, having chased 200+ once before in this season. However, losing the big hitters Maxwell and Munro within the first ten overs didn't help and Delhi were left with too much to get in the final 10 overs - 134.

Rishabh Pant and Vijay Shankar then launched an all-out attack against the Chennai bowlers and at one stage it looked like the impossible was becoming possible. Between the two, they smashed 9 sixes but losing Pant for 79(45) in the 18th over killed their chances. Shankar was left unbeaten on 54 as Delhi eventually fell 13 runs short. Man of the Match: Shane Watson.

Things are now looking very bad for Delhi, who have 2 wins in 8 games and their play-off chances have almost disappeared. Keep reading GutshotMagazine.com for regular cricket updates and IPL 2018 match results!


Event Dates Buy In
Spartan Super Series (June) 11 Jun - 17 Jun INR 11,000
APT Korea Seoul 15 Jun - 24 Jun KRW 1,100,000 (~US$ 1,000)
PokerBaazi Premier League - Summer 2018 18 Jun - 24 Jun INR 16,500
Manila Super Series 8 2 Jul - 8 Jul ₱10,000
APT Vietnam Championships 2018 11 Jul - 22 Jul VND 20,000,000
2018 APPT Manila 4 Aug - 12 Aug PHP 55,000