2018 World Series of Poker begins today!

Posted On 30 May, 2018 0

Ten months back was the last time a card was dealt at the World Series of Poker, an annual poker tournament series which has been taking place at Las Vegas for almost 5 decades now. It is undoubtedly the most prestigious poker series in the world, and here we are, all set to kick off the 49th annual World Series of Poker today.

The schedule for the series was released towards the end of last year itself, with 78 WSOP bracelet events lined up, nine of which will be making their debut in this season. The doors to the 2018 WSOP open today, with cash games, satellites, and daily deep stacks scheduled for the day. The first bracelet event begins tomorrow - the $565 Casino Employees tournament.

Event #2: $10,000 Super Turbo Bounty is the second scheduled bracelet event for tomorrow, and the first event open to everyone. This super turbo bounty tournament is one of the nine events debuting this year, while shot clocks will also debut this season. The other 8 events that will be played for the first time are:

  • Event #5: $100,000 NLHE High Roller
  • Event #11: PLO GIANT - $365 PLO
  • Event #34: $1,000 Double Stack NLHE
  • Event #47: $565 WSOP.com ONLINE PLO 6-Handed
  • Event #67: $1,500 PLO Bounty
  • Event #73: $1,000 Double Stack NLHE (30-minute Levels)
  • Event #75: The Closer - $1,500 NLHE (30-minute Levels) - $1,000,000 GTD with 3 starting flights
  • Event #77: $50,000 NLHE High Roller

Of course, all eyes will be on the mega WSOP Main Event, a $10,000 buy-in event which attracts thousands of participants from around the world each year. A few of the best will walk away with life-changing prizes, just like Scott Blumstein took home $8,150,000 for winning the WSOP 2017 Main Event, which remains his only WSOP cash till date. 7,221 entries were recorded to that event.

Indian participation is expected in large numbers for the 2018 World Series, and we are hoping that a few come back home with WSOP bracelets like Aditya Sushant did last year, winning the Tag Team Event with Nipun Java, becoming the first Indian to win a WSOP bracelet.

Apart from Sushant, others from will be a part of the action this year are Aditya AgarwalRahul Byrraju, Amit Jain, Shashank Jain, Kunal Patni, Sahil Agarwal, Raghav Bansal and Akash Malik. PokerBaazi Team pros Jasven Saigal and Vikram Kumar, and female pros Muskan Sethi and Nikita Luther will also be present. A lot of poker websites ran promotions to send players to play in the World Series. The Spartan Poker's Vegas winners were Anirban Das, Sriharsha D, Rohan Bhasin, and Kranthi Kiran, while Piyush Gangadharan won a package from 9Stacks.

For a complete schedule of WSOP 2018, click here and also, stay tuned to GutshotMagazine.com for a daily roundup of the tournament series!

Read more:


Event Dates Buy In
AJPC Asian Circuit - Festival 2019 6 Dec - 15 Dec TBD
Manila Super Series 13 10 Dec - 15 Dec PHP 12,000
APT Kickoff Ho Chi Minh 8 Jan - 19 Jan TBD
India Poker Championship - January 2020 15 Jan - 19 Jan INR 50,000
The Indian Poker Series (TIPS) 3 Feb - 10 Feb TBD