3 Indians Score at APL Road Series Vol.1 Philippines

Posted On 03 Mar, 2018 0

The inaugural edition of the APL Road Series Vol.1 Philippines kicked off on 24th February and concluded on 1st March 2018. After 6 days of Main Event action, a winner was finally crowned at the Royce Hotel & Casino in Pampanga, Philippines - local poker pro Lester Edoc.

Players were thrilled to be a part of this Asia Poker League event and a total of 6 Indians were also a part of the proceedings there. A total of 276 entries were recorded and 3 Indian players managed to make it to the money, with Niwesh Sharma narrowly missing a cash prize.

The final day had begun with just 9 survivors left and by then, all hopes of an Indian title win had been dashed, with Rajesh Goyal (chip leader coming into Day 3) finishing 17th for ?75,600 (~INR 94,900), Jayjit Ray finishing 27th for ?52,200 (~INR 65,500), and Agampal Dhupar finishing 36th for ?45,000 (~INR 56,500).

Edoc managed to maintain a good chip stack and finally went into heads up against Harold McDonald with a massive stack of 6 million, while McDonald had a little less than a million in chips. In what would become the final hand, Edoc held A-4 while McDonald had A-6. The board opened A-4-4-Q-8 and gave Edoc a full house, which secured him the top prize of ?1,478,800 (~18.5 lakhs).

Watch the video of his race to victory here:

Final Table Results (All values in ?):

  1. Lester Edoc - 1,478,700
  2. Harold McDonald - 1,037,400
  3. Guak Do Gyeong - 667,300
  4. Bell John Perez - 493,900
  5. Cho Hyung Woon - 370,800
  6. Mike Takayama - 296,500
  7. John Tech - 246,300
  8. Choi Jae Young - 197,400
  9. Joseph Sia - 147,900

Keep reading GutshotMagazine.com for similar reports of poker tournaments from across the globe. Don't forget to leave your comments as well.


Event Dates Buy In
PokerStars Live Jeju Red Dragon 2018 30 Nov - 9 Dec KRW 2,200,000
PokerStars Live Manila MegaStack 7 Dec - 16 Dec PHP 30,000
Two of a Kind (December) 9 Dec - 9 Dec INR 5,500
Gayle Storm 4.0 9 Dec - 9 Dec INR 2,500
PokerBaazi Premier League Winter Edition 2018 10 Dec - 16 Dec INR 11,000
The Millionaire (December) 16 Dec - 16 Dec INR 5,500