Ankit Wadhawan ascends The Summit on PokerBaazi

Posted On 21 Dec, 2018 0

PokerBaazi has a reputation of holding some of the highest-stakes tournaments in the Indian online poker scene. Along with hosting their enormous INR 1 Crore GTD MoneyMaker tournament, they also host daily feature tournaments having massive guarantees.

Their Thursday’s feature tournament, The Summit MonsterStack Turbo 10 LAC GTD, or simply called ‘The Summit’ is hugely popular among the poker masses of this country. The 10 Lakhs guarantee was surpassed yesterday when a total of 218 entries (101 re-entries) individually coughed up INR 8,250 to create an enormous INR 16.35 Lakhs in guaranteed prize money.

The tournament started on PokerBaazi at 8 pm in the evening and was in the books by 2:57 am today morning. Top 20 places were paid out (min cash - INR 24,525) of the prize pool and the winner to emerge from the 7-hour grind was a well-known player Ankit Wadhawan aka ‘d00mtr00p3r’. Wadhawan took home INR 3,59,700 as 1st place cash prize, a good 22% of the prize pool. He beat the player ‘bellarybabu’ in heads-up for the title. The runner-up took home INR 2,69,775 as his cash prize, another sizeable 16% of the prize pool.

Wadhawan is a regular in online circuits, ranking in the money very often. He also has a Spartan Super Series (SSS) title to his name, when he won a tournament in August this year. Another one of his wins on Spartan was the Mega Freeze in July. He is a poker aficionado and has a couple of recorded live cash outs in Goa as well. This Summit win is a big addition to his winnings and he is now winter-ready with his cozy bankroll enabling him to play in more future tournaments. He’ll be hoping to carry this trend forward to the next year as well.

Other known names to rank in top 20 were Jayjit Ray aka ‘england’ (3rd – INR 1,96,200), first Indian WSOP bracelet winner Aditya Sushant aka ‘gangajal’ (7th – INR 61,312), Neeraj Kumar aka ‘SelfClaimedPro’ (9th – INR 40,875), yesterday’s Godfather winner Sahil Mahboobani aka ‘ImHighIshove’ (12th – INR 32,700), Nishant Sharma aka ‘nishant177’ (15th – INR 28,612), who also ended runner-up in Spartan’s Flash yesterday, Rohit Mishra aka ‘rohit22rm’ (17th – INR 28,612) and Kavish Kukreja aka ‘Narcos’ (18th – INR 24,525).

Keep reading for more tournament updates, promotions and general poker news from around the world.

Don’t have an account on PokerBaazi? If you wish to play and become a big winner of their massive tournaments and promotions, sign-up now by clicking HERE.

Read more:


Event Dates Buy In
WPT Cambodia 2019 15 Nov - 25 Nov $1,100
Manila Super Series 12 19 Nov - 24 Nov PHP 12,000
APT Finale 2019 28 Nov - 9 Dec TBD
Poker King Cup Vietnam 2019 4 Dec - 10 Dec VND 22 million
AJPC Asian Circuit - Festival 2019 6 Dec - 15 Dec TBD
Manila Super Series 13 10 Dec - 15 Dec PHP 12,000