Anton Wigg latest pro to join 888poker's 8-Team promo

Posted On 24 May, 2018 0

Just a couple of weeks ago, it was announced that Scotland's poker pro Niall 'Firaldo87' Farrell would join Team UK in 888poker's 8-Team promo, as wingman to the captain Chris Moorman |UK|. Similarly, Swede pro Anton Wigg has been added to Team Sweden, as wingman to the team's captain Martin Jacobson |Sweden|.

What is the 8-Team promotion?

Leading poker company 888poker is giving one lucky team the chance to win a free package to the 2019 WSOP (World Series of Poker) Main Event. The 8-team tournament will see six country-based teams that will compete for points, based on their performances in this year's WSOP Main Event.

Each team consists of 3 members - a captain, a wingman and an online qualifier and each team's members will be awarded points based on the days they survive at the 2018 World Series ME. Bonus points are awarded to the player who ends any day as chip leader and an additional 100 points go to the player who is the last man standing in the ME.

Teams and their captains:

  1. Team Brazil - Vivian Saliba
  2. Team Canada - Parker Talbot
  3. Team Germany - Dominik Nitsche
  4. Team Spain - Marti Roca de Torres
  5. Team Sweden - Martin Jacobson
  6. Team United Kingdom - Chris Moorman

Female pro Bruna Unzueta joined Vivian Saliba as wingman for Team Brazil, Farrell joined Team UK and now, Wigg has joined Team Sweden. Wigg has earned over $2.3 million in live poker cashes while he has amassed a massive $7.9 million in online poker till date, which makes Team Sweden one of the front-runners to win the 8-Team promo.

Three more teams are to announce their wingmen while the online qualifiers are to be announced as well. With the WSOP Main Event having a massive buy-in of $10,000 and 888poker awarding a free seat to all three members of the winning team, there will be quite a lot of motivation for these teams.

We at will bring to you all major updates on the 888poker 8-Team promotion and also the upcoming 2018 World Series of Poker. Stay tuned.

Read more:


Event Dates Buy In
APT Taiwan 2019 20 Feb - 3 Mar TWD 33,000
New Caledonia Poker Open 2019 26 Feb - 8 Mar XPF 110,000
Triton Poker Super High Roller Series Jeju 2019 2 Mar - 9 Mar HKD 2,000,000
Two of a Kind (March) 3 Mar - 3 Mar INR 5,500
Adda52 Godfather 7.0 Finale 3 Mar - 3 Mar INR 70,000 (Ticket)
The Indian Poker Series (TIPS) 2 6 Mar - 11 Mar INR 26,000