Anup Palod leads Day 1C of WPT India Main Event

Posted On 18 Nov, 2018 0

Last year, the World Poker Tour (WPT) made its debut in India and after a successful series which included a 527-entry field at the Main Event, WPT launched its second stop in India. Three winners are already announced at the Deltin Royale in Goa, and the Main Event has been running simultaneously since a couple of days, along with a few side events.

NJ Niranjan led 81 survivors from Day 1A, Akshay Nasa led 88 survivors from Day 1B and by the end of these two flights, we had a WPT India record, with a field of 540 entries registering. However, it wasn't ending there as a Day 1C Turbo was also introduced, with levels of 20 minutes each, ready to make this record-breaking field even bigger.

This began at 9:30pm last night and plenty of known names were seen at the tables, creating a field of 157 entries for this final flight, with the same buy-in of INR 55,00 and same starting stack of 30,000 chips. This created an overwhelming field of 697 entries that created a record Indian prize pool of INR 3,62,49,576. From this, the top place will take home a life-changing amount of INR 66.35 lakh.

Someone who got a good start towards claiming this top prize is Anup Palod, who topped the chip stacks on the Day 1C Turbo, bagging 296,500 in chips which also made him the overall leader moving into Day 2. 72 players bagged their chips at the end of this final starting flight, making a total of 241 players that will continue on Day 2 of the Main Event.

As per the prize calculations, the top 88 players in this field will be paid out with a minimum prize of INR 89,500. So far, Palod has put himself in a good position to cash out big time in Goa, but there are many who are close behind him at the end of Day 1C, including second in stacks, Gaurav Kalra (181k), Ashish Munot (104k), Chirag Sodha (94k), Kavin Shah (94k) and Tathagata Sengupta (78k).

Top ten chip stacks after Day 1C:

  1. Anup Palod - 296,500
  2. Gaurav Kalra - 181,500
  3. Dinesh Kukreja - 171,500
  4. Anil Singh - 47,000
  5. Sahil Arora - 128,500
  6. Jairam Parab - 112,000
  7. Ashish Munot - 104,500
  8. Anil Gulati - 100,000
  9. Kevin Ayow - 98,500
  10. Kunal Raj Kussa - 96,500

Keep reading for more updates on the 2018 WPT India series in Goa.

Don’t have an account on Adda52 as yet? You can join their platform and be one of the big winners of the Adda52 featured tournaments, or any of their other top tournaments. To do so, sign-up HERE.

Read more:

Image courtesy: Deltin Poker Tournament


Event Dates Buy In
World Poker Tour (WPT) Taiwan 2020 27 Mar - 6 Apr TWD 30,000
Asian Poker Tour (APT) Da Nang 2020 7 Apr - 18 Apr TBD
End Boss INR 5 Crore GTD 15 Apr - 19 Apr INR 11,000
Asia Poker League (APL) Taiwan 2020 21 Apr - 27 Apr TBD
Asian Poker Tour (APT) Philippines 2020 27 Apr - 10 May TBD
National Poker Series 29 Apr - 5 May INR 15,000