APL Da Nang: Nguyen Minh Tuan wins Main Event

Posted On 20 Dec, 2019 0

Growing significantly with time, one of the prestigious series in the popular destination, Vietnam hosting Asia Poker League (APL) at Risemount Premier Resort Da Nang already engraved itself in the books after crowning Vietnam’s Nguyen Minh Tuan the ultimate Main Event champion, lifting the golden trophy along with his career best, a whopping VND 2 billion prize money!

A six-day long competition counted 525 entries, crowded by players from around the Asian region and beyond. Easily surpassing the VND 8 billion GTD for healthier and richer VND 10 billion, a portion from the same was taken away the top 66 players.

The final day resumed with the chip leader Indonesia’s Anton Widjaya who led the final 9 players with his incredible stack of 3,545,000 chips. The battle began with the first casualty on the final table, Young Hwan Sun making his way out in the 9th place. Nguyen Minh Tuan’s full house couldn’t be beaten by Lee Jong Wook who ultimately rested in 8th place. After few eliminations, APL Ambassador and Indian pro Sumit Sapra who doubled up through Tiger Lee Seok Young to climb up to 2.1 million was eventually pushed out by Seok’s pocket Aces but with a King on the board and that was it for Sapra who clinched to 5th position for VND 262 million (~INR 14.62 Lakhs).

The action continued until the heads-up began and the final hand quickly arrived. Tuan raised 240k and Lin Jian three-bet to 850k and got a call from the former. On the flop and turn Kd 9c 8d 2h, Jian bet 650k and another 1 million which was called by Tuan. River 10s, Jian checked, and Tuan shoved for his Qc Jc hitting a straight and Jian chanced to call his tournament life holding Qs 10s pair. And that was it, the Vietnamese railed out his opponent adding an incredible and valuable title in poker career, boosting his total live earnings from $2,648!

The Main Event attracted three Indian players who besides Sapra, Sahni Vikas finished in 36th for VND 49 million (~INR 1.49 Lakhs) and Manish Lakhotia in 53rd place for VND 41.5 million (~INR 1.27 Lakhs).

Final table payouts:

  1. Nguyen Minh Tuan – VND 2,026,500,000
  2. Liu Jian – VND 1,383,400,000
  3. Anton Widjaya – VND 889,700,000
  4. Tiger Lee Seok Young – VND 622,300,000
  5. Sumit Sapra – VND 477,900,000
  6. Song Daewoong – VND 397,200,000
  7. Zhang Chi – VND 329,500,000
  8. Lee Jong Wook – VND 262,800,000
  9. Young Hwan Sung – VND 197,400,000

Keep reading GutshotMagazine.com for the latest updates poker news and tournaments around the world!

Check out our online poker rooms section, where you can read reviews on the biggest and best poker rooms in the country, while also taking advantage of their bonuses and promotions. Check out these top poker rooms HERE.

Read more:

Image Courtesy: SoMuchPoker


Event Dates Buy In
Aussie Millions 2020 4 Jan - 24 Jan AUD 10,600
APPT Open Taipei 2020 31 Jan - 9 Feb TWD 35,000
The Indian Poker Series (TIPS) 3 Feb - 10 Feb TBD
WPT Philippines 2020 6 Feb - 17 Feb PHP 80,000
Asian Poker Tour (APT) Taiwan 2020 4 Mar - 15 Mar TBD