APT Philippines: Jeonggyu Cho tops Day 1A of Championship Event

Posted On 19 Sep, 2019 0

The APT Philippines II 2019 ride doesn’t end with the completion of its Main Event. Yesterday saw the second featured tournament – the Championship Event taking place at Resorts World Manila’s new Grand Wing. The festival has so far been graced by world-class players from all around the Asia-Pacific including a few Indian players as well. The Championship Event featured a guaranteed prize pool of PHP 10 million and along with the biggest chunk of prize money, the winner of this event will also receive the APT Championships Trophy, and the APT Championship Ring.

Day 1A wrapped with a decent field of 95 for a buy-in of PHP 82,500 (~INR 1.12 Lakhs). The initial Day 1A of the Championship event narrowed the field down to 43 remaining survivors who will move into Day 2. The competition saw the emergence of Korea’s Jeonggyu Cho as the chip leader amassing 339,700 chips. Cho collected the highest stack during the final hand of the event. Last week's WPT Vietnam 2019 winner, Hamish Crawshaw also entered this first starting flight. Battling heads-up with Cho. Crawshaw with Kc Qd couldn’t beat latter’s flush Ad 10d.

The event also saw the presence of notable contestants, namely Michael Kim Falcon chopping out Marc Rivera who was competing with pocket Aces over Ace-King. Additionally, the Championship event also spotted the sole Indian contender, Akshay Nasa, the APT Philippines II 2019 High Roller Single Day 1 runner-up. Unfortunately, Nasa was pushed out on the river by Falcon’s straight 10s 8s on a board Ah Js Ks Qd 4c.

The tournament was loaded with well-known players, including Go Saito bagging 135,000 chips, Lester Edoc with 78,800 chips, Ji Young Kim 138,200 chips and so on.

Top 10 chip counts at the end of Day 1A

    Jeonggyu Cho - 339,700
    Michael Kim Falcon - 315,600
    Jung Seong Mook - 195,000
    Graeme Siow - 181,200
    Hojoon Choi - 173,800
    George Mateo - 165,200
    Thomas Bobington - 156,800
    Gary Thompson - 144,200
    Ji Young Kim - 138,200
    Go Saito - 135,000

The upcoming Day 1B will take place today (19 Sep) at 1:00 pm local time. The Day 1A qualifiers will advance to Day 2. So, grab your seats to witness another battlefield and keep reading GutshotMagazine.com to remain updated.

Image Courtesy: Asia Poker Tour


Event Dates Buy In
Baazi Poker Tour 2 Jan - 14 Jan INR 35,000
Red Dragon Manila 2020 4 Jan - 11 Jan PHP 110,000
Aussie Millions 2020 4 Jan - 24 Jan AUD 10,600
APT Kickoff Ho Chi Minh 8 Jan - 19 Jan TBD
India Poker Championship 15 Jan - 19 Jan INR 50,000
APPT Open Taipei 2020 31 Jan - 9 Feb TWD 35,000