APT Vietnam: Dhaval Mudgal, Sumit Sapra progress to Day 2 of ME

Posted On 09 Nov, 2019 0

With each passing day of Asian Poker Tour (APT) Vietnam, Indians are cramming the Pro Poker Club in Ho Chi Minh City. While other side events have been witnessing deep runs made by India’s leading poker enthusiasts, Day 1B of the Main Event halted yesterday, welcoming another set of entries.

With a buy-in of VND 2,200,000, 116 players registered themselves in the tournament which guarantees VND 8 billion. The cards and chips were in the air until the field narrowed down to 49 remaining players resuming on Day 2. Amassing the largest stack was Korea’s Jeonggyu Cho with 149,500, closely followed by second in the chip lead, a native player Nguyen Quang Minh with 148,700 chips.

As stated, Vietnam has been attracting the best of Indians. The Main Event Day 1B enticed Indian duo namely Sumit Sapra and Dhaval Mudgal. Mudgal was found railing an opponent with K-10 straight over top pair during the day. He bagged an impressive 143,500 and is now leading in the top spots after combining with Day 1A. Besides, Sapra bagged 33,800 chips, both players will be moving further to battle it out on Day 2.

  • Dhaval Mudgal - 143,500 (3rd)
  • Yasheel Dodddanavar - 85,000 (15th)
  • Vivek Rughani - 79,400 (18th)
  • Meherzad Munsaf - 72,900 (19th)
  • Sahil Chutani - 46,700 (38th)
  • Laksh Pal Singh - 44,900 (42nd)
  • Sumit Sapra - 33,800 (54th)
  • Maria Kirloskarb - 32,300 (56th)

Recently, the chip leader, Cho finished 3rd place in Manila Open Poker Tour High Roller. Accumulating total live earnings of over $307k, Cho sits in 17th place in South Korea’s All-Time money list and is now racing for his first-ever live cash win. As for our Indians, Sapra and Mudgal both have plenty of achievements whiel Mudgal has even won big in Vietnam, shipping the WPT ME there in October last year

Day 1B top 10 chip counts

  1. Jeonggyu Cho - 149,500
  2. Nguyen Quang Minh - 148,700
  3. Dhaval Mudgal - 143,500
  4. Seok Hyun Song - 139,700
  5. Jiang Yong Bu - 117,600
  6. Huynh Duc Tai - 113,500
  7. Tomokazu Hattanda - 111,800
  8. Robert Nemeskeri - 100,800
  9. Le Ngoc Khanh - 95,500
  10. Yin Mingbao - 88,400

Day 1C will surely attract more Indians, scheduled to begin today (9 November) at 1 pm local time. So, hold onto your seats and keep reading GutshotMagazine.com to remain updated!

Check out our online poker rooms section, where you can read reviews on the biggest and best poker rooms in the country, while also taking advantage of their bonuses and promotions. Check out these top poker rooms HERE.

Read more:

Image Courtesy: Asian Poker Tour


Event Dates Buy In
India Online Poker Championship (IOPC) 24 Jan - 9 Feb INR 11,000
APPT Open Taipei 2020 31 Jan - 9 Feb TWD 35,000
The Indian Poker Series (TIPS) 3 Feb - 10 Feb TBD
WPT Philippines 2020 6 Feb - 17 Feb PHP 80,000
Adda52 Online Poker Series (AOPS) 7 Feb - 16 Feb INR 11,000
Triton Poker Jeju 2020 10 Feb - 22 Feb HKD 1,000,000