Aussie Millions Main Event: Vekaria, Bansal progress to Day 4

Posted On 22 Jan, 2020 0

A busy day in the Crown Resorts in Melbourne hosting the 2020 edition of Aussie Millions with the jaw-dropping A$10,600 Main Event currently underway. The Eastern zone of the world is blazing with fire hosting some of the prestigious tournament series in and around the region. With an end to 2020 IPC and APT Vietnam Kickoff 2020, it is now time to turn your screens to the on-going festival.

The Main Event pulled out 820 players in total missing the last year’s mark by few entries. Chip in-charge Jordan Tentori building a towering stack of 439,700 led 158 players to Day 3. Money reached the top 88 finishers who profited from the A$8,200,000 prize pool, crushing the advertised guarantee. It was Ize Bourne to become the bubble boy of the tournament, bursting in the 89th place, the final unpaid position when his Eights and Fives couldn’t dominate the trips flopped by Sergio Aido.

Day 3 saw the rise of Germany’s Nino Ullmann (picture below) accumulating the largest stack of 1,497,000 followed by India’s Rishabh Vekaria bagging 1,380,000 chips and Manig Loeser with 1,355,000 chips, rounding up the top 3. Unquestionably, the field was tough including Erik Seidel, Nick Pupillo, Fabian Quoss and so on progressing to Day 4.

Indians have been highly excited for the on-going event; the starting flights enrolled a total of 8 fellow countrymates but the field chopped down to observe only two of them advancing to Day 4 including Paawan Bansal with 289,000 chips and Vekaria. Unfortunately, Rahul Melwani busted quite early in the competition, resting in 81st place with AUD15,580 (~INR 7.58 Lakhs).

Other notable names going down and pocketing some cash include Kahle Burns, Jack Salter, Rory Young, Sergio Aido, and Steve O'Dwyer but the defending champ Bryn Kenney had a rather fruitless day.

Day 3 top 10 chip counts:

  1. Nino Ullmann - 1,497,000
  2. Rishabh Vekaria - 1,380,000
  3. Manig Loeser - 1,355,000
  4. Bryce Yockey - 1,246,000
  5. Randy Lew - 1,094,000
  6. Mike Del Vecchio - 1,093,000
  7. Gareth Pepper - 1,063,000
  8. Erik Seidel - 1,035,000
  9. Jack Wu - 1,026,000
  10. Hussein Hassan - 944,000

Main Event Day 4 will resume today, 22nd January at 12:30 pm local time with 37 survivors racing to grab A$1,850,000 well-reserved for the winner! So, for the latest updates on poker news and tournaments around the world, keep reading and stay tuned!

Check out our online poker rooms section, where you can read reviews on the biggest and best poker rooms in the country, while also taking advantage of their bonuses and promotions. Check out these top poker rooms HERE.

Read more:

Image Courtesy: PokerNews


Event Dates Buy In
WPT Philippines 2020 6 Feb - 17 Feb PHP 80,000
Adda52 Online Poker Series (AOPS) 7 Feb - 16 Feb INR 11,000
Triton Poker Jeju 2020 10 Feb - 22 Feb HKD 1,000,000
APL Da Nang 2020 19 Feb - 28 Feb VND 25,300,000
AJPC Asia Millions Poker Championship 21 Feb - 24 Feb KRW 2,500,000
Asian Poker Tour (APT) Taiwan 2020 4 Mar - 15 Mar TWD 33,000