Claas Segebrecht wins Master Classics of Poker Amsterdam Main Event

Posted On 27 Nov, 2017 0

Claas Segebrecht has won the 2017 Master Classics of Poker €4,300 buy-in Main Event for a €235,087 payday. A final table that featured players from nine different countries gave the Master Classics of Poker €4,300 buy-in Main Event an international flavor, with German high roller Claas Segebrecht rising to the top of the field to win €235,087 ($276,804). 

Segebrecht KO'd five of his fellow final tablists, the last of whom was Belgium's Bart Lybaert, who had to settle for runner-up prize money of €157,553 ($185,511). It was Lybaert's second cash of the series hosted by Holland Casino in Amsterdam, following a 12th place finish in the €3,250 Pot Limit Omaha High Roller. 

Segebrecht's victory added to his exceptional November that included a 3rd place finish in the €25,000 High Roller at the WSOPE in Rozvadov that resulted in a €321,863 ($374,682) payday. Those two scores this month account for more than 1/3 of the German's career earnings total of $1,774,362, per the Hendon Mob database. 

The Austrian high roller dominated the final table, that featured players from nine different countries such as Belgium, Finland, Indonesia and Ukraine. Segebrecht knocked out 5 of his opponents, including the most accomplished player at the final table, John Juanda, who finished 5th for €58,800. 

Segebrecht has been on some sort of a roll lately having finished also 3rd earlier this month in the €25,000 High Roller at the WSOPE in Rozvadov for over €320,000 payday. In total, the Austrian pro has now almost $1,8 million in live tournament cashes. 

The Master Classics of Poker Main Event has been running since 1992, and in addition to Segebrecht players like Surinder Sunar, Ram Vaswani, Robert Mizrachi and Noah "Exclusive" Boeken have managed to win the prestigious title. 

Final Table Results: 

  1. Claas Segebrecht - €235,087
  2. Bart Lybaert - €157,553
  3. Kai Lehto - €109,361
  4. Igor Yaroshevskyy - €78,776
  5. John Juanda - €58,800
  6. Moritz Dietrich - €45,257
  7. Marijn van Puffelen - €35,777
  8. Lars Bonding - €29,005
  9. Goran Mandic - €23,926


Event Dates Buy In
APT Kick Off Vietnam 2019 9 Jan - 20 Jan TBA
India Online Poker Championship (IOPC) 11 Jan - 20 Jan INR 11,000
2019 Aussie Millions Poker Championship 15 Jan - 4 Feb AUD 10,600
Destiny 7.0 Finale SnG 27 Jan - 27 Jan INR 1 lakh (Ticket)
APT Japan Tokyo 2019 1 Feb - 11 Feb JPY 30,000
PokerStars Live Okada Manila Millions 5 Feb - 10 Feb PHP 2,500