Friday Roundup: Faiz Alam, Mrinal Manna, Anant Purohit win

Posted On 01 Feb, 2020 0

Everyone is usually happy it's Friday and that the weekend is here but for professional and even semi-professional poker players in India, it's the business end of their weeks. The highest guarantees usually come out in online poker on the weekends and yesterday was one more successful day on the virtual felts. Keep reading for a complete summary of what happened last night...

Spartan TGIF INR 12 Lakh GTD

There's no need to introduce this man Anant Purohit, otherwise known by his screen name 'Pro'. There's no week in online poker that we don't see him winning and here too, he grabbed himself another India Online Poker Championship (IOPC) title on Spartan Poker by winning the TGIF tournament last night. A massive field of 1,034 entries each paying INR 1,650 and the guarantee was passed here in IOPC Event #45, taking the prize pool up to INR 15.51 Lakh. Purohit ended the tournament with a heads-up deal with 'KIM28', taking away the top prize of the tournament.

Others in the top places included Naren Purohit (3rd), Vinay Choudhry (7th), Naresh Veeravalli (8th),  Madhav Gupta (12th), Lakshpal Singh (14th), Tathagata Sengupta (17th), Ratul Steves (20th), Ayush Garg (23rd), Sumit Sapra (36th), and many others. 

PokerBaazi FRIYAY 6 Lakh GTD

This has been a regular weekly feature on PokerBaazi since many months and last night, 226 entries each paid the INR 4,400 entry fee to break the guarantee and create a fresh prize pool of INR 6.78 Lakh. From them, 27 places finished in the money but the player who went on to grab the top prize of the night was Mrinal Manna aka 'booyah' who took home INR 1,59,533 when he beat 'Psychonaut' in heads-up at exactly 1:54am! The runner-up took home INR 1,11,937 for his deep run.

Others to cash were Sandeep Varma (23rd), Rajat Sharma (17th), Guneet Kwatra (8th), Anuj Yadav (7th), Arjanveer Chadha (5th), Anurag Srivastava (4th), and others.

The Ballers

A newer tournament on the Adda52 schedule, The Ballers saw a steep buy-in of INR 7,500 and thus, there were quite a few known names in contention to win the big prizes. The prize pool generated was of INR 25.27 Lakh and from the field of 369 entries, the top 38 took home a pay-check with the min-cash set at INR 15,166. Faiz Alam shipped the tournament under his 'TheInternetKid' username, taking away a massive top prize of INR 5,03,639 for the victory. In heads-up, he got past 'buntai' who was also paid well with a prize of INR 4,33,782.

Others to cash were Anish Patra (37th), Sandeep Varma (35th), Neel Joshi (31st), Danish Shaikh (28th), Lakshpal Singh (26th), Naren Purohit (19th), Sahil Agarwal (17th), Vinay B (16th), Guneet Kwatra (12th), and others. For more updates from the live and online poker scene in India and around the world, stay tuned to

Sign-up to PokerSaint with code "GUT100". Also, check out our online poker rooms section, where you can read reviews on the biggest and best poker rooms in the country, while also taking advantage of their bonuses and promotions. Check out these top poker rooms HERE.

Read more:


Event Dates Buy In
World Poker Tour (WPT) Taiwan 2020 27 Mar - 6 Apr TWD 30,000
Asian Poker Tour (APT) Da Nang 2020 7 Apr - 18 Apr TBD
End Boss INR 5 Crore GTD 15 Apr - 19 Apr INR 11,000
Asia Poker League (APL) Taiwan 2020 21 Apr - 27 Apr TBD
Asian Poker Tour (APT) Philippines 2020 27 Apr - 10 May TBD
National Poker Series 29 Apr - 5 May INR 15,000