Friday Roundup: Jayjit Ray, Akash Shekhar win features

Posted On 25 Jan, 2020 0

Friday isn't the biggest day when it comes to tournament guarantees online, but there was still plenty to play for last night. On Spartan Poker, another edition of the India Online Poker Championship (IOPC) kicked off while the regular feature tournaments were played on other platforms. Keep reading for a complete summary of last night's tournaments...

IOPC Elite INR 30 Lakh GTD

There was much excitement for the start of IOPC on Spartan Poker and Elite was the first major tournament on IOPC Day 1, and the guarantee was absolutely smashed. With 410 entries each paying INR 11,000 as the buy-in, the prize pool was inflated all the way up to INR 41 Lakh, wherein the top 39 places took home a share of the prizes. Beginning at 9pm and ending at 5:20am this morning, it was a long and hard grind which saw Bheem Singh Meena aka  'TymTravel' emerging victorious and bagging a massive top prize to kick off proceedings in IOPC. In heads-up, he got past 'ganesha3009' who also took home a pretty handsome prize for second place.

Among those to cash in this tournament were Akash Malik (37th), Gaurav Sood (35th), past IOPC Main Event winner Ashish Munot (33rd), Anant Purohit (30th), Sam Anand (22nd), Jayjit Ray (21st), Vivek Rughani (20th), recent IPC Main Event winner Rubin Labroo (15th), Sahil Agarwal (14th), Sajal Gupta (13th), Anurag Srivastava (10th), Raghav Bansal (6th) Aditya Sushant (4th), and some other known names.


Having cashed in the IOPC Elite tournament, Jayjit Ray had a better night on PokerBaazi, where he plays under the name 'england'. He played in the Friday feature and went on to ship it as well, taking home INR 1,82,242 in prize money for this victory. The guarantee was passed and a new prize pool of INR 8.2+ Lakh was created thanks to the 275 entries that all paid the INR 4,400 entry fee to play.

36 players were paid in all, including Anurag Srivastava (36th), Neel Joshi (35th), Arjanveer Chadha (34th), Pranay Chawla (33rd), Akshay Nasa (17th), Chiraag Patel (16th), Abhishek Garg (13th), Anuj Yadav (8th), Gaurav Sood (6th), Lakshpal Singh (3rd) and Vivek Singh in runner-up position, winning INR 1.27 Lakh. The tournament came to an end at 2:34am this morning, completing a 6.5-hour grind.

Uppercut PKO INR 15 Lakh GTD

This tournament was a part of PokerStars' Winter Series and in Event #31, we had 382 entries paying INR 4,400 each in this 6-Max tournament, which was good enough to pass the guarantee and create a new prize pool of around INR 15.8 Lakh. This was shared among the top 71 places with the min-cash at INR 3,365 and eventually, it was '1II|1II|II1|' who went on to ship the tournament, winning a prize of INR 2.35 Lakh for the effort, including bounties. In heads-up, he got past the familiar face of Anuj Yadav who goes by the name 'brockLesnar95' on PokerStars India, adding around INR 1.75 Lakh to his poker bankroll for finishing second here.

StackUp Turbo 6-Max INR 1 Lakh GTD

The StackUp tournaments on 9stacks (sign-up with code "GUTSHOT") are becoming increasingly popular and last night, 74 players participated with the buy-in fixed at INR 1,100. Beginning at 7:59pm last night, it went on until 18 minutes past midnight and the winner to be declared was Akash Shekhar aka 'K9_A' who took home the top prize of INR 28,000! He fired 2 bullets and beat 'virat_kohli' in heads-up, the latter winning INR 20,000 for finishing second.

For more updates on the daily online and live poker tournaments from India and around the world, stay tuned to

Sign-up to PokerSaint using code "GUT100". Also, check out our online poker rooms section, where you can read reviews on the biggest and best poker rooms in the country, while also taking advantage of their bonuses and promotions. Check out these top poker rooms HERE.

Read more:


Event Dates Buy In
WPT Philippines 2020 6 Feb - 17 Feb PHP 80,000
Adda52 Online Poker Series (AOPS) 7 Feb - 16 Feb INR 11,000
Triton Poker Jeju 2020 10 Feb - 22 Feb HKD 1,000,000
APL Da Nang 2020 19 Feb - 28 Feb VND 25,300,000
AJPC Asia Millions Poker Championship 21 Feb - 24 Feb KRW 2,500,000
Asian Poker Tour (APT) Taiwan 2020 4 Mar - 15 Mar TWD 33,000