Gautam Dhingra wins Melbourne Poker Championship ME

Posted On 18 Aug, 2018 0

The much-awaited Melbourne Poker Championship was contested to kick start the month of August. Between 1-3 August, a total of 15 tournaments were played at the Crown Melbourne, with hundreds of players from different parts of the world participating in the series.

The series was a trailer of what you can expect at the Aussie Millions at the start of 2019, and it all came to an end with the highlight of the series - the Main Event. Outlasting this field and beating some of the country's wealthiest poker players was Indian origin player and Melbourne's very own, Gautam Dhingra.

The AUD 1,650 buy-in Main Event attracted a total of 523 entries and Dhingra beat them all, taking home a career-best prize of AUD 156,051 (~$112,765) and taking his career live winnings past $240k. An enormous prize pool of AUD 784,500 was generated and Dhingra took away the biggest prize of all.

While most of the participants were from the home country, Dhingra faced Korea's Hyung Tai Kim in heads-up, who lost to Dhingra's Ks Js in the final hand and walked away with the runners-up prize of AUD 124,424. Dhingra's previous best was $29,433 he earned for finishing fourth in an Aussie Millions tournament back in 2011.

Final table results:

  1. Gautam Dhingra - AUD 156,051 (~INR 79.71 lakh)
  2. Hyung Tai Kim - AUD 124,424
  3. Julius Colman - AUD 66,690
  4. Simon Chahine - AUD 50,210
  5. Jordan Westmoreland - AUD 34,520
  6. James Harketts - AUD 27,455
  7. Adam Markiewicz - AUD 22,360
  8. Andrew Zebrovius - AUD 18,830
  9. Minh Hau Nguyen - AUD 15,690
  10. Paul Altis - AUD 13,335

Other tournaments also took place at the Melbourne Poker Championship, with Tino Lechich winning the 5K Challenge High Roller Event, David Kelly winning the Opening Event and Idris Hassan winning the NLHE Deepstack Event. Keep reading for more updates on the top poker tournaments from around the world.

Read more:


Event Dates Buy In
WPT Philippines 2020 6 Feb - 17 Feb PHP 80,000
Adda52 Online Poker Series (AOPS) 7 Feb - 16 Feb INR 11,000
Triton Poker Jeju 2020 10 Feb - 22 Feb HKD 1,000,000
APL Da Nang 2020 19 Feb - 28 Feb VND 25,300,000
AJPC Asia Millions Poker Championship 21 Feb - 24 Feb KRW 2,500,000
Asian Poker Tour (APT) Taiwan 2020 4 Mar - 15 Mar TWD 33,000