Guneet Kwatra takes down The Bout on PokerBaazi

Posted On 18 Dec, 2018 0

PokerBaazi is a site that hosts plenty of high value and action-packed tournaments and series all year long. They just recently concluded their PokerBaazi Premier League (PPL) Winter Edition, which had INR 5 Crores in total guaranteed prize money.

The Yearly PPL Leaderboard just gave away a brand-new shiny Harley-Davidson motorcycle for the winner. Similarly, they give out huge cash prizes for different kinds of promotions and events. They also host high-stakes feature tournaments every day of the week.

Their feature tournament of Monday is The Bout INR 10 Lakhs GTD. Yesterday’s Bout attracted a total of 266 entries (138 re-entries), each coughing up the buy-in of INR 4,400 which created a prize pool of INR 10.64 Lakhs, exceeding the guaranteed amount.

The Bout began at the usual 8 pm on PokerBaazi and was in the books by 2:47 am today morning. After almost a 7-hour long haul, the 1st place was filled by the well-known player Guneet Singh Kwatra aka ‘guntz’. He earned the winner prize of INR 2,23,440, 21% of the prize pool. He beat another known player Jayjit Ray aka ‘england’ in heads-up to take home the title and the cash. The runner-up bagged another 15% chunk of the prize pool – INR 1,61,728.

Kwatra has a long history of shipping events online.The biggest of these was the Millionaire, where he cashed out INR 24.5 Lakhs in February this year on Spartan,  along with quite a few other victories. The Gutshot Team also had a one-on-one chat with Kwatra after his Millionaire win. He was optimistic about the future, saying “The next few years should be the breakout ones for Indian poker.”

Kwatra, an MBA grad hailing from Jalandhar, started playing recreationally back in college days. He then moved to Bangalore to try his hand at the live poker scene. He has never looked back since and has sizeable live winnings in his bag already and looks like he will carry forward this trend into the next year as well. He was also felicitated at the 2018 India Poker Championship (IPC) Awards held at Sahara Star, Mumbai.

Other known names among the top 26 who were paid out include Vinay B aka ‘Vinstill’ (26th – INR 11,704), Ankur Aryan aka ‘enigma89’ (23rd – INR 11,704), Akshay Nasa aka ‘sherlock52’ (19th – INR 13,300), Abhinav Iyer aka ‘griezmann’ (15th – INR 15,428), Aditya Sushant aka ‘gangajal’ (8th – INR 31,920), 2018 PPL Winter title winner Sajjan Barnwal aka ‘TheTeacher’ (5th – INR 68,096) and Apratim Sharma aka ‘checmate’ (4th – INR 90,440).

Keep reading for more tournament updates, announcements and general poker news from around the world.

Don’t have an account on PokerBaazi? If you wish to play and become a big winner of their massive tournaments and promotions, sign-up now by clicking HERE.

Read more:


Event Dates Buy In
Aussie Millions 2020 4 Jan - 24 Jan AUD 10,600
APPT Open Taipei 2020 31 Jan - 9 Feb TWD 35,000
The Indian Poker Series (TIPS) 3 Feb - 10 Feb TBD
WPT Philippines 2020 6 Feb - 17 Feb PHP 80,000
Asian Poker Tour (APT) Taiwan 2020 4 Mar - 15 Mar TBD