IPL 2018: Mumbai Indians Finally Get a Win

Posted On 29 Apr, 2018 0

Yes, Mumbai Indians fans. You guys finally have something to cheer about.

It was a good batting wicket at the MCA Stadium in Pune, Chennai's new home ground for the rest of the season. Mumbai won the toss and elected to field first and they did pretty well to restrict Chennai Super Kings to 169/5. 143/2 in 17 overs with Suresh Raina and Dhoni at the crease could've well meant MI chasing 180, but good death bowling saw the quick fall of wickets and a lower total.

Ambati Rayudu justified wearing the Orange Cap by another very good innings of 46(35), while Raina proved why he is one of the mot valuable players in the history of the Indian Premier League, scoring 75(47)*. Mumbai brought in Ben Cutting and JP Duminy for this game but none had a chance to make any contributions to the side. 

Chasing 170 wasn't going to be much of a hassle but with Mumbai failing to chase 119 in their last game, they were cautious at the start. They had plenty of wickets in hand towards the back-end of the innings so there was no issue even when the required run rate touched 9-10. 

CSK had problems of their own with swing bowler Deepak Chahar walking off the field with a hamstring injury, making a weak bowling attack even weaker. Imran Tahir came in to bowl the last over, having to defend 5 runs and it took Mumbai just 4 balls to finish that off and register their second win of the tournament. 

Openers Evin Lewis and Suryakumar Yadav scored forties while Rohit Sharma scored his second fifty of the season, with an unbeaten 56* that took his team over the line. Mumbai fans will now start dreaming of yet another recovery that will turn their season around and get them into the IPL 2018 play-offs. Man of the Match: Rohit Sharma. 

Keep reading GutshotMagazine.com for daily IPL 2018 match updates!


Event Dates Buy In
AJPC Asian Circuit - Festival 2019 6 Dec - 15 Dec TBD
Manila Super Series 13 10 Dec - 15 Dec PHP 12,000
APT Kickoff Ho Chi Minh 8 Jan - 19 Jan TBD
India Poker Championship - January 2020 15 Jan - 19 Jan INR 50,000
The Indian Poker Series (TIPS) 3 Feb - 10 Feb TBD