Jayjit Ray wins The Elite on Spartan

Posted On 02 Mar, 2019 0

Yesterday, Spartan Poker, one of the reputed poker brands in the country hosted The Elite 6-Max INR 18 Lakhs GTD, the feature Friday tournament. Since it has a buy-in of a good INR 11,000, the field also saw only the high rollers contesting in it.

The tournament began at 9 pm last evening and attracted a total of 247 entries (including 56 re-entries and 82 re-buys). After a long grind of over almost 8 hours, ending at 4.54 am, the winner emerged. Well-known community entity Jayjit Ray aka ‘David Blaine’ earned himself the coveted Elite title plus INR 5,74,275 as first-place cash prize out of the greater prize pool of INR 24.7 Lakhs.

Ray beat Archit Saraogi aka ‘ReMorse123’ in heads-up to claim the title. In the final hand, Ray was with a little over 2:1 chip lead. The hand was interesting. Both had suited hole cards. The flop of 7c Kh 8c gave Ray flush draw but he kept it calm and made a small bet, which Saraogi called.

The turn of 6c completed Ray’s flush and saw him bet a small one again, luring his opponent into the trap and it worked. Saraogi bluffed and went all-in on 5d river and Ray called his shove. In the showdown, Ray showed a King-high flush and sealed his victory against Saraogi’s high card King. The latter had to settle for INR 3,89,025, which is not a bad amount either.

Ray is a significant figure in the community. He has an impressive online record. He is also part of PokerGuru Staking (formerly AceJack Stable) and has been around since quite some time. Among his major online wins include winning a Destiny tournament on Spartan in its 7th edition, winning PokerBaazi Summit last October.

On the live felt, he won Baadshah Live Tournament (BLT) High Roller last October, where he made his best live cash of INR 9 Lakhs. This is a sizeable amount he won last night in Elite, and it will surely help him maintain his bankroll and make him play more in the upcoming exciting range of tournaments in 2019.

Other’s in the mix to rank in the top 23 paid places (min-cash INR 28,652) were Siddharth Mehndiratta (6th – INR 1,32,145), Nadeem Basha (8th – INR 71,877), Apratim Sharma (9th – INR 57,304), Anirban Das (10th – INR 48,165) who won PokerStars India’s Uppercut 10L GTD last night, Shravan Chhabria (13th – INR 41,990), one of Destiny 8.0 finalists Yowan Patel (16th), this week’s Destiny winner Pranay Chawla (19th) and Anish Patra (19th).

Keep reading GutshotMagazine.com for more such tournament roundups and for general poker news from around the world.

Don’t have an account on The Spartan Poker? Check out their review page here, and don’t miss out on their bonuses, promotions, and guarantee-smashing tournaments. Sign-up now.

Read more:


Event Dates Buy In
World Poker Tour (WPT) Taiwan 2020 27 Mar - 6 Apr TWD 30,000
Asian Poker Tour (APT) Da Nang 2020 7 Apr - 18 Apr TBD
End Boss INR 5 Crore GTD 15 Apr - 19 Apr INR 11,000
Asia Poker League (APL) Taiwan 2020 21 Apr - 27 Apr TBD
Asian Poker Tour (APT) Philippines 2020 27 Apr - 10 May TBD
National Poker Series 29 Apr - 5 May INR 15,000