Kanishka Samant beats Arsh Grover to ship Sunday SuperStack

Posted On 01 Apr, 2019 0

Kanishka Samant is a name that’s been heard over and over again in this year for winning big titles. He is a regular well-known community member and has been playing poker since a long time. In 2019, he won the IOPC Elite for a good ~INR 12.74 Lakhs. He won Spartan Poker’s Destiny last month and became the 8th entrant to the SnG Finale.

And he did it again by shipping last night’s feature tournament on Spartan, Sunday SuperStack INR 25 Lakhs GTD for again a good amount of INR 6,73,100 as first-place cash prize. The tournament began at 7.30 pm yesterday evening and was in the books by 3.13 am today morning. The top 40 places were paid for a min-cash of INR 15,240.

Overcoming the field of 508 entries (including 94 re-entries and 179 re-buys), Samant aka ‘Wildflower’ shipped the tournament for INR 6,73,100 which was not his first time, having shipped this title already back in May 2018 for ~INR 5.71 Lakhs. He beat Arsh Grover aka ‘BigggTymeR’ in heads-up who settled for INR 4,19,100 as the runner-up prize money. It must’ve been a tough grind for Samant as it was a Sunday and the field included top pros of the community.

Samant is also a strong presence on live felts and has cashed in Asian hotspots like Manila and Macau. He earned his best live cash of INR 11.5 Lakhs back in 2015 when he shipped the India Poker Championship (IPC) Main Event. This win is significant and will prove helpful in coming months for Samant, who’ll be looking to repeat his success in other events, both live and online.

Some of the regs to finish in the money on Spartan last night were Laksh Pal Singh (3rd – INR 2,54,000), Ankur Aryan (4th – INR 1,60,020), Siddhanth Kapoor (7th – INR 73,660), Abhishek Rathod (8th – INR 60,960), Rubin Labroo (10th – INR 38,100) Apratim Sharma (12th), Rohit Mishra (18th), Sumit Sapra (22nd), Sahil Chutani (23rd), Pulkit Goyal (24th), Shravan Chhabria (25th), Srihari Bang (26th), Sam Anand (30th), Siddharth Karia (35th), one of Destiny 8.0 winners Yowan Patel (38th) and Sahil Agarwal (39th).

Keep reading GutshotMagazine.com for more such tournament roundups, results and for general poker news from around the world.

Don’t have an account on Spartan Poker? Check out their review page here, and don’t miss out on their bonuses, promotions, and guarantee-smashing tournaments. Sign-up now.

Read more:


Event Dates Buy In
AJPC Asian Circuit - Festival 2019 6 Dec - 15 Dec TBD
Manila Super Series 13 10 Dec - 15 Dec PHP 12,000
APT Kickoff Ho Chi Minh 8 Jan - 19 Jan TBD
India Poker Championship - January 2020 15 Jan - 19 Jan INR 50,000
The Indian Poker Series (TIPS) 3 Feb - 10 Feb TBD