Kunal Patni finishes 2nd in APPT Manila Shot Clock Event

Posted On 13 Aug, 2018 0

Since the last 10 days, Indian players have been continuously making good runs and scoring big at the Asia-Pacific Poker Tour's (APPT) current series in Manila. The Indian contingent also brought home a title, with Chiraag Patel winning the NLH Turbo Event for ~INR 4.54 lakh.

Apart from that, Akshay Nasa narrowly missed out on the APPT National title, Sahil Agarwal struck a deal and finished 2nd in the High Roller tournament, and there were 8 Indians who cashed out in the Main Event, making it one of India's best outings at an APPT series. 

The final day saw yet another Indian doing well in Manila and that was none other than Kunal Patni, who has had a good year in live poker thus far. He cashed a huge amount for finishing second in the WPT Berlin Main Event, cashed out in Las Vegas too, and now missed out on a title in Manila, finishing 2nd to Taiwan's Tzu Chieh Lo.

It was Event #21: 6-Handed Shot Clock of the APPT Manila series and this 1-day event had a buy-in of PHP 25,000 (~INR 32,500). The tournament saw a total of 262 entries registering, thus creating a prize pool of PHP 5,718,150 (~INR 74.52 lakh). The top 29 players were paid out a min-cash of PHP 54,000 and apart from Patni, two other Indians also cashed out.

Kavin Shah, captain of GPL India team Mumbai Jetsetters, finished 20th for PHP 62,000 (~INR 80,800) while Varun Gupta was also a part of the final table with Patni, finishing 5th for PHP 300,000 (~INR 3.91 lakh). Patni went out to make a brilliant run, finishing 2nd and adding PHP 960,000 (~INR 12.51 lakh) to his poker bankroll.

Big wins are not something new for Patni, who now has over $400k in live poker cashes. He lost to Lo, a popular player in the Asian circuit and someone who has won titles in Manila in the past. This was the penultimate tournament of this year's APPT Manila and the final tournament also saw an Indian cashing out, with Sam Srinivas Polishetty finishing 6th for a prize of PHP 91,200 (~INR 1.18 lakh).

Final table results:

  1. Tzu Chieh Lo - PHP 1,460,000
  2. Kunal Patni - PHP 960,000
  3. Martijn Johannes Gerrits - PHP 572,000
  4. Masatoshi Tanaka - PHP 423,150
  5. Varun Gupta - PHP 300,000
  6. Thananat Therdtskoonrat - PHP 215,000

Keep reading GutshotMagazine.com for more updates on Indian poker players doing well in tournaments around the world.

Read more:


Event Dates Buy In
Baazi Poker Tour 2 Jan - 14 Jan INR 35,000
Red Dragon Manila 2020 4 Jan - 11 Jan PHP 110,000
Aussie Millions 2020 4 Jan - 24 Jan AUD 10,600
APT Kickoff Ho Chi Minh 8 Jan - 19 Jan TBD
India Poker Championship 15 Jan - 19 Jan INR 50,000
APPT Open Taipei 2020 31 Jan - 9 Feb TWD 35,000