List of Winners at the American Poker Awards

Posted On 26 Feb, 2018 0

At the start of this year, Global Poker Index (GPI) announced that they will be returning with the American Poker Awards for the 4th successive year, to hand out awards to the top players of 2017 across various categories. The ceremony took place on 22nd February at the Sunset Strip, Andaz West Hollywood in Los Angeles, after three years of being hosted in Beverly Hills.

PokerStars was the presenting sponsor of the ceremony, at which a total of 20 awards were given out, and Andrew Neeme and Poker Central took home top honours. Poker player Neeme won awards for Video Blogger of the Year and People’s Choice Award, while Poker Central won two as well - Media Content and Podcast.

Full list of awards given out at the 2018 APA's:

  • 2017 GPI American Player of the Year - Bryn Kenney
  • 2017 GPI Female Player of the Year - Kristen Bicknell
  • People's Choice Award - Andrew Neeme
  • Breakout Player - Artur Papazyan
  • Tournament Performance - Scott Blumstein (WSOP Main Event)
  • Moment of the Year - Ema Zajmovic (First woman to win a WPT title)
  • Event of the Year - partypoker MILLIONS North America
  • Mid-Major Circuit Event - WPTDeepStacks
  • Podcast - Poker Central Podcast
  • Video Blogger - Andrew Neeme
  • Poker Streamer - Jaime Staples
  • Broadcaster of the Year - Nick Schulman
  • Journalist of the Year - Lance Bradley
  • Media Content - Poker Central (Dead Money: A Super High Roller Bowl Story)
  • Industry Person - Matt Savage
  • Poker's Biggest Influencer - Cary Katz
  • Lifetime Achievement in Poker - Norman Chad, Lon McEachern
  • Charitable Initiative - Jacob Zalewski (One Step Closer Foundation)
  • Jury Prize - Eric Danis
  • PocketFives Legacy Award - Ari Engel

“Massive thanks to everyone who voted in the American Poker Awards. When all the hours put into a project resulted in true value for the audience (entertainment, info, or whatever the case) it’s an awesome feeling,” said Andrew Neeme, who received over 10,000 fan votes, beating the likes of Daniel Negreanu, Jonathan Little, and Doug Polk for the People's Choice Award.

Keep watching for similar poker news from around the world!


Event Dates Buy In
Baazi Poker Tour 2 Jan - 14 Jan INR 35,000
Red Dragon Manila 2020 4 Jan - 11 Jan PHP 110,000
Aussie Millions 2020 4 Jan - 24 Jan AUD 10,600
APT Kickoff Ho Chi Minh 8 Jan - 19 Jan TBD
India Poker Championship 15 Jan - 19 Jan INR 50,000
APPT Open Taipei 2020 31 Jan - 9 Feb TWD 35,000