Mandava Rao wins Grand Rummy Championship in Goa

Posted On 23 May, 2018 0

Online rummy website RummyCircle made a huge announcement recently, sharing plans of hosting their first ever offline rummy tournament, with a record breaking prize pool at stake too. The tournament, called the Grand Rummy Championship (GRC), was scheduled to take place between 18-20 May 2018, and a winner was crowned a couple of days back.

Month long qualifiers took place on and a total of 215 qualifiers were flown down to Goa to play the main tournament at the Lalit Spa and Resort. After four thrilling rounds of play, Andhra Pradesh's Mandava Subrahmanyeswara Rao emerged as the winner of the inaugural Grand Rummy Championship.

The 2018 GRC platform was not just to host a rummy tournament but RummyCircle wanted to provide its players with an experience to remember, including the best of rummy action, live performances, a drinks and dinner party and much more. Mandava Rao walked away with the top prize of INR 20 lakh for the top prize.

“GRC was all about giving an unmatched live rummy playing experience in a fun and grand way. We wanted to make each of our players feel special and allow them to enjoy this first of its kind live rummy championship, we truly wanted to provide the Best Rummy Experience,” said RummyCircle CEO and Co-founer, Bhavin Pandya.

The total prize pool set for the tournament was INR 70 lakh and along with Rao, two other winners walked away with handsome pay-outs. With the first of its kind GRC being a successful tournament, we may expect more such rummy tournaments being held in the future, both by RummyCircle and by other rummy operators in the country.

Final pay-outs:

  1. Mandava Rao - INR 20 lakh
  2. Ala Venkateswarlu - INR 10 lakh
  3. Ravibabu Kotla - INR 5 lakh

Keep reading for similar news and updates about rummy in India.

Read more:


Event Dates Buy In
Baazi Poker Tour 2 Jan - 14 Jan INR 35,000
Red Dragon Manila 2020 4 Jan - 11 Jan PHP 110,000
Aussie Millions 2020 4 Jan - 24 Jan AUD 10,600
APT Kickoff Ho Chi Minh 8 Jan - 19 Jan TBD
India Poker Championship 15 Jan - 19 Jan INR 50,000
APPT Open Taipei 2020 31 Jan - 9 Feb TWD 35,000