Manoj Pentakota aces PokerBaazi Summit

Posted On 08 Mar, 2019 0

PokerBaazi is a brand that’s well-established in the Indian online poker scenario. However, no one can deny that the company has been seeing great success in the industry recently. The deserved success comes from hosting some of the most special tournaments in the scene like last month’s Game Changer which literally delivered what it had hoped to and more.

Among PokerBaazi’s regular feature tournaments is The Summit INR 15 Lakhs GTD. The tournament is hosted onThursday evening on the platform. Last night’s Summit started at 8 pm sharp on the site, the usual time, and ended at 3.12 am today morning. It attracted a field of 265 entries (including 131 re-entries), each coughing up the INR 8,250 buy-in to crush the guarantee. The resulting prize pool created was INR 19,87,500 out of which the top 47 places were paid, min-cash being INR 13,117.

The player to overcome this tough field and a tougher Final Table was acclaimed online grinder Manoj Pentakota aka ‘killbill’, taking home INR 3,79,016 as the first-place cash prize. He beat ‘TheHungryKid’ in heads-up to secure his victory and the latter grabbed INR 2,68,312 as runner-up cash prize.

Pentakota has been playing poker since a long time and is a reputed community entity. He won Spartan Poker’s Millionaire’s first ever iteration back in 2015 for INR 10 Lakhs, a huge deal in those days. He subsequently registered a lot of wins and deep runs in multiple online offerings like Spartan Elite, PokerBaazi PPL ME, SSS PLO HR and Spartan Flash. He even won Spartan Mega Stack in January and began his year on a good note. This win will see him add a significant amount to his bankroll. He briefly spoke to us after his win saying, "It feels good to finish 1st for a change after falling short many times on the Final Table."

Since it was a feature tournament, the FT was even tougher and Pentakota must’ve got a taste of the tough FT since it included the likes of Gokul Raj aka ‘Nygma’ (5th – INR 94,803), Pranav Bang aka ‘pranav.bang1’ (6th – INR 67,177), Vivek Rughani aka 'Ishoveonyou' (7th - INR 54,855) and Sumit Sapra aka ‘boronyx’ (8th – INR 44,718).

Other regs to cash in the tournament include Varun Gulati (10th), Vinay B (11th), Chiraag Patel (12th), Nadeem Basha (15th), Ujjwal Narwal (16th), Aditya Chaudhary (20th), Game Changer winner Prashanth Sekar (21st), Arsh Grover (22nd), Rohit Mishra (25th), Rubin Labroo (27th), WPT Vietnam Satty winner Neel Joshi (30th), Gaurav Sood (31st), Pranay Chawla (32nd), Spartan Destiny 7.0 SnG winner Sriharsha Doddapaneni (33rd), Sagar Choudhury (36th), Jasven Saigal (43rd), India’s first WSOP bracelet winner Aditya Sushant (44th), Sahil Mahboobani (45th) and last night’s Spartan Flash winner Nishant Sharma (47th).

Keep reading for more such tournament results, roundups and for your daily dose of poker news from around the world.

Don’t have an account on PokerBaazi? If you wish to play and become a big winner of their massive tournaments and promotions, sign-up now by clicking HERE.

Read more:


Event Dates Buy In
World Poker Tour (WPT) Taiwan 2020 27 Mar - 6 Apr TWD 30,000
Asian Poker Tour (APT) Da Nang 2020 7 Apr - 18 Apr TBD
End Boss INR 5 Crore GTD 15 Apr - 19 Apr INR 11,000
Asia Poker League (APL) Taiwan 2020 21 Apr - 27 Apr TBD
Asian Poker Tour (APT) Philippines 2020 27 Apr - 10 May TBD
National Poker Series 29 Apr - 5 May INR 15,000