Martin Soukup Becomes Third 2-Time Unibet Open Champion

Posted On 19 Feb, 2019 0

One of the most reputed European live tournament series, the Unibet Open, was hosted at the New Montana Hotel in Romania recently. The 2019 Unibet Open series was held in Sinaia, Romania between 12-18 February 2019. The €1,100 Main Event of the series was the last event for the duration and it declared its champion on Sunday, 17th February.

Martin Soukup emerged the Main Event champion, taking home €71k (~INR 57.33 Lakhs) as first place cash prize. What’s more impressive is that he won his second Unibet Open title this time, having won it previously in 2016 Unibet Open Malta ME for €65k. Soukup, with this win, has become third player to make two Unibet Open title wins.

The Main Event attracted 366 total entries and cutting through this field, the Czech champion bagged his 4th career live title and his biggest paycheck till date. The final day of the Main Event was played out couple days ago and saw Soukup already entering as the chip leader.

In heads-up, he found himself up against Marius Gicovanu. The latter looked like the one to deny Soukup his second Unibet title, but things weren’t the same a few hands later. In the final hand, Soukup was with Ad 5c and went all-in pre-flop. Gicovanu called with Kd Td. An ace on the flop went in favour of Soukup and he rode that lead all the way to river to ship the tourney. Romanian pro Gicovanu then settled for the second-place cash prize of €45,310.

Final Table Pay-outs:

  1. Martin Soukup – $79,987
  2. Marius Gicovanu – $51,045
  3. Traian Bostan – $38,259
  4. Cristian Grecu – $30,964
  5. Toni Judet – $24,407
  6. Stefan Drusca – $18,639
  7. Espen Uhlen Jorstad – $13,688
  8. Catalin Moraru – $10,060

The series was a hugely successful event. It had kicked off with the Battle of Champions, an invitiational event that saw Deivis Rinkevicius ship it. Daiva Byrne won the QUEENRULES Ladies Event which was hosted in the series for €800 beating 28 entries. €550 DSO Cup was also hosted in the series and attracted 172 entries. Dara O’Kearney won the Cup.

Keep reading for more such international tournament results and for general poker news from around the world.

Check out our online poker rooms section, where you can read reviews on the biggest and best poker rooms in the country, while also taking advantage of their bonuses and promotions. Check out these top poker rooms HERE.

Read more:


Event Dates Buy In
World Poker Tour (WPT) Taiwan 2020 27 Mar - 6 Apr TWD 30,000
Asian Poker Tour (APT) Da Nang 2020 7 Apr - 18 Apr TBD
End Boss INR 5 Crore GTD 15 Apr - 19 Apr INR 11,000
Asia Poker League (APL) Taiwan 2020 21 Apr - 27 Apr TBD
Asian Poker Tour (APT) Philippines 2020 27 Apr - 10 May TBD
National Poker Series 29 Apr - 5 May INR 15,000