Match IPL Season 2 Kicks Off Today

Posted On 31 Mar, 2018 0

The Match IPL is a joint association between Raj Kundra and Shilpa Shetty's Viaan Industries; and the International Federation of Match Poker (IFMP). Match IPL stands for Match Indian Poker League, which is a unique poker sports league that uses the Match Poker format and is contested between various city-based teams of India.

The inaugural season of the league was a 2-day event that took place back in November 2017 and it was the Mumbai All-Stars who won that season, led by Bollywood actor Harman Baweja, and consisting of some of India's best poker players - Nikunj Jhunjhunwala, Abhishek Jalan, Sacheen Ramchandani, Pratibha Arya, Ronak Gidwani, Anita Hassandani Reddy, Jagdeep Singh, Siddharth Anand and Keenan Tham. They then represented India in the Poker Nations Cup, where they finished at an impressive 5th place!


After the success of that first season, the MIPL had plans of getting bigger and better, so they introduced three new teams, namely Pune Kings, Haryana Hawks and UP Indians. After a lot of live and online qualifiers, the Grand Final of Match IPL Season 2 is set to kick off on 31st March in Kolkata, and it's certainly going to be exciting.

For those who don't know how Match Poker works, let us explain. A total of 156 hands will be played at the grand finale, including strategy breaks among the 10 participating teams that consists of 8 players each. This one day will include a total of 4 sessions of play. Watch this video for a better explanation:

A couple of online poker companies cashed in on the action as well. PokerBaazi is the title sponsor of the Haryana Hawks while the UP Indians will be sponsored by The Spartan Poker. UP Indians is one of the new teams in the MIPL, owned by Ahishek Jalan, Anup Palod, Rannvijay Singha and others.

The team has signed a couple of brilliant players and they can certainly fancy their chances in the second edition of the Match Indian Poker League. Keep an eye out on for a full roundup of the final on Monday. And for those who want to catch the action on TV, tune in to MTV on 12th and 13th April, at 10pm!


Event Dates Buy In
WPT Japan 2018 1 Sep - 17 Sep JPY 30,000
2018 APT Philippines Championships II 13 Sep - 24 Sep PHP 55,000
WPT Korea 2018 18 Sep - 24 Sep KRW 1,100,000
WPT Vietnam 2018 26 Sep - 4 Oct VND 22,000,000
Deltin Poker Tournament Xpress 27 Sep - 30 Sep INR 15,000
PokerStars Live Manila Super Series 9 1 Oct - 7 Oct PHP 10,000