Mike Del Vecchio leads Aussie Millions Main Event

Posted On 02 Feb, 2019 0

The biggest tournament series happening in the southern hemisphere is undoubtedly the 2019 Aussie Millions, hosted in Crown Melbourne. Running till 4th February, four Indians signed up for the Main Event and from that, India’s first WSOP bracelet winner Aditya Sushant finished in the money at 87th for a little over INR 8 Lakhs. Vinod Megalmani also finished deep in the Terminator event at 5th place.

The AUD 10,600 Main Event is down to the Final Table after a record 822 entries whittled down to the Final 7 who will all be aiming at the 1st place AUD 1,850,000 (~INR 9.58 Crores) and the ANTON ring. American pro Mike Del Vecchio has earned the chip leader title at the FT, with 5,465,000 chips in his bag. Trailing him are local pros Andrew Hinrichsen with 5,300,000 chips and Matthew Wakeman with 4,010,000 chips.

Day 4 of ME started with 38 players in the race and after a few hands, Del Vecchio doubled through New Zealand’s Hamish Crawshaw on the FT bubble. In 4-way action at Del Vecchio’s table, he flopped a full house with pocket Fives and beat Crawshaw’s trips Tens.

He took the pivotal lead with this hand. American pro and businessman Bryn Kenney was also in the mix and rounded up top 7 with 920k chips on the FT. Kenney will jump to the simultaneous AUD 100k Challenge with a break in ME. He said, “That's great timing, now I can win both,” with a beam of smile on his face.

Del Vecchio, the chip leader, has over $1.8 million in live earnings till now and he will almost double this amount if he ends victorious. He made his biggest live win in 2017 WPT Five Diamond Main Event at 3rd place for $752,196 and has shown some amazing skills before. In 2018 Aussie Millions ME, he was railed at 5th place by the defending champion Toby Lewis. This time he’ll be hoping to put an end to his struggle and bag his first ANTON ring and the ME title.

Notables to get busted on the day include 2018 partypoker MILLIONS Online runner-up Pim De Goede (19th), Michael Addamo (17th) and Farid Jattin (31st).

Final Table Chip Counts –

  1. Mike Del Vecchio - 5,465,000
  2. Andrew Hinrichsen - 5,300,000
  3. Matthew Wakeman - 4,010,000
  4. Clinton Taylor - 3,845,000
  5. Hamish Crawshaw - 3,640,000
  6. Gyeong Byeong Lee - 1,540,000
  7. Bryn Kenney - 920,000

Stay tuned to GutshotMagazine.com for the climax of the Aussie Millions ME as well as for general poker news from around the world.

Check out our online poker rooms section, where you can read reviews on the biggest and best poker rooms in the country, while also taking advantage of their bonuses and promotions. Check out these top poker rooms HERE.

Read more:

Image Courtesy - PokerNews


Event Dates Buy In
Aussie Millions 2020 4 Jan - 24 Jan AUD 10,600
APPT Open Taipei 2020 31 Jan - 9 Feb TWD 35,000
The Indian Poker Series (TIPS) 3 Feb - 10 Feb TBD
WPT Philippines 2020 6 Feb - 17 Feb PHP 80,000
Asian Poker Tour (APT) Taiwan 2020 4 Mar - 15 Mar TBD