NJ Niranjan leads Day 1A of WPT India Main Event

Posted On 17 Nov, 2018 0

This is the one they were all waiting for!

The World Poker Tour (WPT) commenced its second stop in India on 13th November and although there were plenty of side events scheduled for the series, the INR 55k Main Event was always going to be the highlight tournaments of the series. Right enough, the first flight of the tournament was a booming success.

A total of 270 entries registered to this first starting flight of the 2018 WPT India Main Event, which was 36 more than what was witnessed last year. With Day 1B scheduled to begin at 12pm today and a new addition of the Day 1C Turbo later tonight at 9:30pm, we're expecting last year's WPT Main Event field of 527 entries to get crushed.

Plenty of known poker faces entered the tournament yesterday, including the likes of Adda52 ambassadors Kunal Patni and Minissha Lamba, PokerStars Team Pro Muskan Sethi, Nishant Sharma and Sahil Agarwal. However, none of these players made it through to Day 2, with only 81 survivors bagging their chips at the end of day's play. Those who busted can obviously return today in Day 1B.

Along with these names, India's first WSOP gold bracelet winner, Aditya Sushant, also joined the field and he was one of the first to go past 100k in chips. In fact, Sushant and Lamba were the chip leaders after Level 9 of the flight, with the former keeping his advantage to progress to Day 2 and Lamba losing her stack to exit the tournament.

From among these survivors, NJ Niranjan is in the chip lead with a monster stack of 284k chips. He will be delighted with his performance on this starting flight and can take a day’s break before returning to play on Day 2 of the ME. Among the survivors are also plenty of known names including Tarun Goyal (206k), Adda52 Team Pro Amit Jain (172k), Devesh Thapar (162k), Kartik Ved (153k), Raghav Bansal (140k), Aditya Sushant (134k), Jaydeep Dawer (131k), Shuchi Chamaria (102k), Kavish Kukreja (78k), Jayjit Ray (76k), Paawan Bansal (48k), and Abhishek Rathod (29k). Last year's Main Event champion Vikash Mantri did not progress.

Join us at GutshotMagazine.com for timely updates on the 2018 WPT India Main Event, and to see whether we witness a record-breaking field when play continues later today.

Don’t have an account on Adda52 as yet? You can join their platform and be one of the big winners of the Adda52 featured tournaments, or any of their other top tournaments. To do so, sign-up HERE.

Read more:

Image courtesy: PokerNews


Event Dates Buy In
World Poker Tour (WPT) Taiwan 2020 27 Mar - 6 Apr TWD 30,000
Asian Poker Tour (APT) Da Nang 2020 7 Apr - 18 Apr TBD
End Boss INR 5 Crore GTD 15 Apr - 19 Apr INR 11,000
Asia Poker League (APL) Taiwan 2020 21 Apr - 27 Apr TBD
Asian Poker Tour (APT) Philippines 2020 27 Apr - 10 May TBD
National Poker Series 29 Apr - 5 May INR 15,000