Norway’s Kai Paulsen wins Metro Summer Event ME

Posted On 18 Apr, 2019 0

On 15th April 2019, Philippines’ popular Metro Card Club wrapped up the 2019 Metro Summer Event (MSE), an annual series of the venue. The Main Event, which was the highlight of the festival, was played out over the course of 4 starting flights.

It was Norway’s Kai Paulsen who took down the title and denied locals a chance. He was among a small number of foreign players in the field and made his first victory of 2019. He earned PHP 918,673 (~INR 12.34 Lakhs) after a 3-way deal.

The 11-day MSE started on 5th April and the ME on 10th April and was played out till 15th. The advertised $3 million guarantee was broken by field of 652 entries, better than last year’s 599-strong field. The eventual prize pool came to PHP 3,912,000 out of which only 65 players profited.

Among the notables to cash in the ME field were PPPoker World Championships winner Richard Marquez (27th) and MSE defending champion Joseph Sia (47th). The final day saw 18 players return to the felts, out of which the eventual winner Paulsen was the only decorated pro. He entered 4th in chip counts on the day and drove the lead to victory.

The heads-up battle was played with Paulsen pitted against Geno Gendrano who was strong for the entire day. He came into Day 2 by topping Day 1A with a heavy stack. The battle lasted for over 1 and a half hour and Gendrano was aggressive as ever and even stole Paulsen’s lead twice. In the end however, Paulsen’s calm composure and experience bagged him the title.

Paulsen now has over $766k in live cashes, among which his best one of ~$275k was earned back in 2008 at PaddyPower Irish Open Main Event at 5th place. He is a well-known player of the community and can easily convert his new earnings in no time.

Final Table Results –

  1. Kai Paulsen – PHP 918,673 (~$17,700)
  2. Geno Gendrano – PHP 616,247
  3. Dexter Salmingo – PHP 464,220
  4. Jan Jason Leoncio – PHP 200,000
  5. Kevin Dos Santos – PHP 130,000
  6. Raymond Gomez – PHP 90,000
  7. Grace Takayama – PHP 69,000
  8. Junnie Pamplona – PHP 57,000
  9. Muammar Manabilang – PHP 45,000
  10. Avelino Rene Maglalang – PHP 39,000

Keep reading for more such tournament round-ups, updates and for general poker news from around the world.

Check out our online poker rooms section, where you can read reviews on the biggest and best poker rooms in the country, while also taking advantage of their bonuses and promotions. Check out these top poker rooms HERE.

Read more:


Event Dates Buy In
WPT Korea 20 Sep - 23 Sep KRW 1,650,000
PokerBaazi Premier League 20 Sep - 29 Sep INR 11,000
APL Ho Chi Minh 2019 4 Oct - 14 Oct VND 16,500,000
APT Taiwan 9 Oct - 20 Oct TBD
Baazi Poker Tour 9 Oct - 14 Oct INR 50,000
APT Taiwan 2019 9 Oct - 20 Oct TBD