Pratik Mehta beats Karan Kapur to WPT India SHIP IT title

Posted On 20 Oct, 2019 0

While most tournaments follow the same routine tournament format at the Deltin Royale Casino in Goa, we had a new twist as part of the ongoing World Poker Tour (WPT) series in Goa. The INR 7k SHIP IT Event took off yesterday alongside a couple of starting flights of the 55k Main Event.

Because the tournament floor was buzzing with a lot of players, they managed 90 entries to the SHIP IT Event where the concept is a slight bit different. These 90 players stood at 9 different tables where there was an open hand flip, where one winner was declared at each table. Immediately after this flip, the 9 winners sat down at the Final Table of this tournament.

All of them were given a starting stack of 12,000 chips and they played levels of 15 minutes each. One good feature about this tournament is that all begin the FT on an equal footing. Last year, it was Sacheen Ramchandani who emerged victorious in this event, then beating a field of 110 entries.

There were a few known names on the final table including Sahil Chutani, and others. The eventual champion Pratik Mehta hadn't executed any eliminations until he took down Pankaj Kothari in third place, in a Kc 5h vs Ad 9h situation where Mehta spiked an Ace on the river.

Mehta faced Karan Kapur in heads-up of the event and after fighting well, Kapur shoved all-in with Qh 8h in the final hand, and Pratik Mehta called with Kc Qd. The board ran out Kd 10c 2c 7c 4h where Pratik flopped a king pair which turned out to be enough to take down the tournament.

Final Table Results:

  1. Pratik Mehta - INR 2,07,446
  2. Karan Kapur - INR 1,18,540
  3. Pankaj Kothari - INR 72,606
  4. Sahil Chutani - INR 51,861
  5. Amit Kumar - INR 40,007
  6. Abhay Bokadia - INR 31,117
  7. Ujjwal Vishnani - INR 26,671
  8. Sanjay Sharma - INR 23,708
  9. Ronak Agarwal - INR 20,744

For more updates on the ongoing WPT India series, stay tuned to

Don’t have an account on Adda52 as yet? You can check out their review page before joining their platform, and could soon become the next winner of any of their top tournaments. You can also sign-up HERE.

Read more:

Image courtesy: OnlinePokerNews


Event Dates Buy In
AJPC Asian Circuit - Festival 2019 6 Dec - 15 Dec TBD
Manila Super Series 13 10 Dec - 15 Dec PHP 12,000
APT Kickoff Ho Chi Minh 8 Jan - 19 Jan TBD
India Poker Championship - January 2020 15 Jan - 19 Jan INR 50,000
The Indian Poker Series (TIPS) 3 Feb - 10 Feb TBD