PSL Season 3 returns with 4 Crores in prize money

Posted On 03 Oct, 2019 0

The third season of Poker Sports League (PSL) is all set for a much bigger return in November. This team-based format of poker will see poker players from across the country vying for a chance to enable their team to win the lion's share of the 4 Crore prizepool on offer. PSL 3 will run from November till March 2020.

The league has been backed by Dabur Group Chairman Amit Burman in association with online poker site, where online qualifiers for this upcoming season will be conducted. These qualifiers are free to enter and those who make it through will be in contention to join the many PSL teams which will part of Season 3. Poker enthusiasts can also take part in live qualifiers for the Main Event which will be held across four major cities - Mumbai, Kolkata, New Delhi, and Bangalore.

Burman is committed to investing an amount of $2 million (~INR 14 Crores) to scale up the event. It has been reported that Burman has bought out Adda52's stake in the PSL and is now a majority stakeholder in the brand. “The Poker Sports League is a pioneer in the world of poker where current and potential poker players from across the globe come together on a unified platform and have the chance to actually enjoy the beauty of a mind-skill sport. Owing to the tremendous response and popularity of the first two seasons, we are delighted to launch the third season of the Poker Sports League which will see much larger spends on our part compared to previous editions. With a total prize-pool of over INR 4 crores, both amateur and professional poker players will have the opportunity to showcase their skills to win big, and at the same time, learn to play responsibly with the introduction of a first-of-its-kind coaching system which will guide the players."

PSL has gained an immensely positive response so far and this season awaits numerous poker admirers from different parts of the country to showcase their skills. This time, the league returns with a greater and bigger platform, "It has received a great response, not just from India, but from people across the globe, and it gives me great joy that we are also going to be the only company in India to produce poker shows in our state-of-the-art production studios in Goa.” noted Burman.

PSL co-founder and CEO, Pranav Bagai stated that owing to the success of the previous editions, season 3 will comprise 10 teams of 12 players each, consisting of both professional and amateur participants. He also added that the team would consist of at least one female player. The final day of the league will resume at a non-casino location in Kolkata. While online satellite qualifiers will continue on as a result of an existing year-long contract, other poker platforms can also be involved in the coming season. Bagai also stated that there will be a separate Teams contest where one player from each team could be nominated by his/her team to rep the site and various promotional contests could be run on the sponsoring site as a result. As for showcasing the series, PSL ran its programming on D-Sport in its previous season but according to Bagai, their target demographic is digital heavy, which is why they are in talks with OTT platforms for broadcasting the upcoming season. Bagai did not divulge any further details in this matter.

With the success of season 2 which was held in Deltin Royale, Goa in May 2018, the winning team Goan Nuts took home a huge INR 2 Crore in first-place prize money. Returning after a 16-month hiatus, PSL 3 promises a bigger first place prize and registrations for the same will run from October 1st to January 5th.

For more updates on all such online and live poker tournaments keep reading and stay tuned.

Check out our online poker rooms section, where you can read reviews on the biggest and best poker rooms in the country, while also taking advantage of their bonuses and promotions. Check out these top poker rooms HERE.

Read more:



Event Dates Buy In
WPT Philippines 2020 6 Feb - 17 Feb PHP 80,000
Adda52 Online Poker Series (AOPS) 7 Feb - 16 Feb INR 11,000
Triton Poker Jeju 2020 10 Feb - 22 Feb HKD 1,000,000
APL Da Nang 2020 19 Feb - 28 Feb VND 25,300,000
AJPC Asia Millions Poker Championship 21 Feb - 24 Feb KRW 2,500,000
Asian Poker Tour (APT) Taiwan 2020 4 Mar - 15 Mar TWD 33,000