Raag Fernandes beats Nishant Sharma to secure Godfather win

Posted On 22 Mar, 2019 0

Adda52 hosted their evergreen Godfather INR 20 Lakhs GTD tournament yesterday. Godfather is currently in its 8th iteration on the platform and yesterday’s event attracted a good field of 480 entries (including 206 re-entries) for a buy-in of INR 5,500.

The field was tough and filled with high bankroll players and top poker talents of the country. The player to emerge victorious and book his seat in the Godfather 8.0 SnG, to be played on 5th May 2019, was Raag Fernandes aka ‘fernz666’. Fernandes took home a good INR 5,88,000 as first-place cash prize, beating the best Indian WSOP ME finisher Nishant Sharma aka ‘DoJingBULLETS’ in heads-up.

We spoke to the winner and he expressed his opinions on a variety of topics. About the platform itself he said, “I personally enjoy the Adda52 user experience. The best part about playing on Adda52 is that whether it's 6 am or 6 pm you will always find a good game to join.

About Adda52’s Godfather tournament, he said, “Adda52's Godfather attracts a mixed bag of rookies as well your seasoned pros so it's always fun battling these different players and of course the Vegas SnG makes it all the more sweeter.

Fernandes witnessed some tough action but ultimately persevered in the tournament and reached the summit to win it. He said, “I started on the Final Table as the lowest stack (under 10 big blinds) so it was a super feeling to claw my way back up from there. To be frank, my Multi-Table Tournament (MTT) accomplishments have been few and far between, which makes this win all the more memorable.” Fernandes will be looking forward to wining the handsome INR 9 Lakhs Vegas package and if he does, the upcoming WSOP 50th anniversary special series has a slew of exciting events to offer.

As Fernandes may have felt, the grind on Adda52 yesterday was super tough. Here’s why. Danish Shaikh finished 4th on FT for INR 1,80,000. Harsh Dembla filled the 7th place for INR 66k and India’s only female WSOP bracelet winner Nikita Luther 8th for INR 54k.

Other regs to finish in the money include Akshay Nasa (10th), Abhishek Goindi (11th), Naren Purohit (19th), Varun Gupta (24th), Pranav Khandalkar (25th), Sriharsha Doddapaneni (34th), Sajal Gupta (35th), and others.

Keep reading GutshotMagazine.com for more such tournament round-ups and for general poker news from around the world.

Don’t have an account on Adda52 as yet? You can check out their review page before joining their platform, and could soon become the next winner of any of their top tournaments. You can also sign-up HERE.

Read more:


Event Dates Buy In
Aussie Millions 2020 4 Jan - 24 Jan AUD 10,600
APPT Open Taipei 2020 31 Jan - 9 Feb TWD 35,000
The Indian Poker Series (TIPS) 3 Feb - 10 Feb TBD
WPT Philippines 2020 6 Feb - 17 Feb PHP 80,000
Asian Poker Tour (APT) Taiwan 2020 4 Mar - 15 Mar TBD