Rohit Yadav wins Spartan’s inaugural TGIF tournament

Posted On 16 Mar, 2019 0

Players who visited Spartan Poker yesterday might have noticed that Friday’s feature tournament Triple Bubble wasn’t to be seen anywhere. The company replaced it with an exciting new offering called Thank God Its Friday (TGIF) which instantly became popular and even crossed its guarantee on its first run itself yesterday.

TGIF INR 7 Lakhs GTD began yesterday at 7.30 pm and went into the books after a grind of almost 5 and a half hours, at 12.59 am early morning today. The tournament, for INR 2.2k buy-in, attracted a field of 399 entries (including 52 re-entries and 153 re-buys).

Rohit Yadav aka ‘rohit0004’ bested this field and emerged victorious, taking home a good first-place cash prize of INR 1,42,237. Yadav made a deal with the runner-up ‘SerialLimper’ which saw the latter earn INR 1,40,174 as his/her part of the deal. Rounding up top 3 was ‘IL Capitano’ earning INR 80,119 as the third-place cash prize.

Yadav mostly plays poker for fun but from time to time signs up for exciting tournaments on Spartan. We contacted him after his win and he said, “It was a good experience playing in the first TGIF tournament on Spartan. I was running like a God and won almost all the flips. I’m not a professional poker player and just play poker as a hobby. I loved the overall structure of this tournament.

Yadav has played in online tournaments before and just this week saw him cash at 4th place in the Mega Freeze, which Siddarth Singhvi, a known community entity, won. Yadav has made multiple deep runs like these on other leading Indian platforms as well. Last night’s win earned him a significant amount and he’ll be looking to indulge in his hobby more and be hoping to win a few more tournaments like these in coming months.

The first ever TGIF will saw many regs in contention. Top 31 places were paid for a min-cash of INR 7,022. Some of the knowns to rank in the money on Spartan include Zarvan Tumboli aka ‘BolAuntyAuKya’ (7th – INR 28,488), Nadeem Basha (14th – INR 11,810), Amar Mehta aka ‘realkidpoker92’ (16th – INR 10,613), Archit Saraogi aka ‘ReMorse123’ (17th – INR 10,613), and others.

Keep reading for more such tournament roundups, results and for general poker news from around the world.

Don’t have an account on Spartan Poker? Check out their review page here, and don’t miss out on their bonuses, promotions, and guarantee-smashing tournaments. Sign-up now.

Read more:


Event Dates Buy In
AJPC Asian Circuit - Festival 2019 6 Dec - 15 Dec TBD
Manila Super Series 13 10 Dec - 15 Dec PHP 12,000
APT Kickoff Ho Chi Minh 8 Jan - 19 Jan TBD
India Poker Championship - January 2020 15 Jan - 19 Jan INR 50,000
The Indian Poker Series (TIPS) 3 Feb - 10 Feb TBD