Sahil Agarwal leads Day 1A of 2020 Red Dragon Main Event

Posted On 07 Jan, 2020 0

The Indian poker fanatics never leave any opportunity to swing around various poker destinations and nonetheless, the heavily-packed new year kicked in with a massive hit as it was just a few days ago that Sahil Agarwal represented the country and triumphed the 2020 Red Dragon Manila Kick-Off event bringing the prestigious trophy home!

The eye-capturing 2020 Red Dragon Main Event wrapped up Day 1A yesterday which recorded 213 entries with each one registering for PHP 110,000 buy-in. As the tournament progressed, the field eventually whittled down to 60 remaining hopefuls to grab their seats on Day 2. The marquee event of the inaugural festival assured PHP 50,000,000 GTD, the largest ever to be featured in the Philippines in the dazzling Okada Manila.

However, after twelve levels of 40 minutes each, once again it was India’s Sahil Agarwal (picture above) to amass the largest stack of 232,000 who is in a good run this year! Following the chip leader’s heels were China’s Zheng Shi bagging 223,000 chips and the Lester Edoc who won the Super High Roller event in the current series with 221,000 chips.

Indians have started crowding the field and battling their way to progress. However, the Main Event also pulled out Dhaval Mudgal (picture below) with 127,000 chips resting in 19th place and advancing with Agarwal while the other Indian duo Kanishka Samant and Ankit Agarwal busted prior in the tournament.

Other familiar names making it through to Day 2 include Japan Open Poker Tour, Tokyo PLO winner Jun Obara with 1156,000 chips, the 2019 WPT Cambodia PLO winner Victor Chong with 138,000 chips, the 2020 Red Dragon Manila Turbo winner Sandro Bruni bagging 70,000 chips, the 2019 APT Philippines II Manila Championships Event Xixiang Luo with 51,000 chips.

Day 1A top 10 chip counts

  1. Sahil Agarwal - 232,000
  2. Zheng Shi - 223,000
  3. Lester Edoc - 221,000
  4. Gen Nose - 201,500
  5. Ryan Yu - 199,500
  6. Shigeji Kusakabe - 176,000
  7. Jiansheng Chen - 171,500
  8. Zhi Qiang Qian - 171,500
  9. Daewoong Song - 169,500
  10. Lei Yu - 166,000

The players still stand a chance to enter and make it through on Day 1B and Day 1C that is scheduled to resume today, 7 January at 1 pm local time and Day 1C starts on the same day at 8 pm. So, keep reading for the latest updates on poker news and tournaments around the world.

Check out our online poker rooms section, where you can read reviews on the biggest and best poker rooms in the country, while also taking advantage of their bonuses and promotions. Check out these top poker rooms HERE.

Read more:

Image courtesy: PokerStars LIVE


Event Dates Buy In
World Poker Tour (WPT) Taiwan 2020 27 Mar - 6 Apr TWD 30,000
Asian Poker Tour (APT) Da Nang 2020 7 Apr - 18 Apr TBD
End Boss INR 5 Crore GTD 15 Apr - 19 Apr INR 11,000
Asia Poker League (APL) Taiwan 2020 21 Apr - 27 Apr TBD
Asian Poker Tour (APT) Philippines 2020 27 Apr - 10 May TBD
National Poker Series 29 Apr - 5 May INR 15,000