Sajjan Barnwal wins first Spartan Destiny 9.0 tournament

Posted On 04 Apr, 2019 0

Destiny series on Spartan Poker already completed its 8th edition and last night saw the first tournament of Destiny 9.0 take place. The series this time, instead of offering INR 10 Lakhs Europe package, will have INR 10 Lakhs GTD kept aside in pay-outs. The winner of the SNG will get INR 5 Lakhs, the runner-up INR 3 Lakhs and the 3rd place will receive a pay-check of INR 2 Lakhs.

Last night the Destiny INR 20 Lakhs GTD tournament was hosted and saw a good turnout. The attracted field amounted to 447 entries (including 94 re-entries and 162 re-buys) for INR 5,500 buy-in. The field collectively crushed the guarantee and a resulting prize pool of INR 22,35,000 was created. The top 40 positions were paid with the min-cash for the tournament being INR 13,410.


Sajjan Barnwal aka ‘TheTeacher’ became the first entrant to the Destiny 9.0 SnG after shipping last night’s tournament. He took home the first-place cash prize of INR 4,41,941 after making HU deal with ‘Immortal killerr’ who earned INR 4,06,803. Barnwal played the tournament from 7.30 pm last evening and was crowned at 3.45 am today morning.

Barnwal, a regular player on Spartan and other platforms of the country, is well-known community entity. He recently took down PokerStars India’s biggest weekly offering Sunday Special PKO in January this year for ~INR 3.54 Lakhs. On live felts, he won DPT INR 15k Bounty Event this February.

Barnwal spoke to us after his win last night. He said, “It took me 3 years to ship Destiny from the time it was inaugurated on Spartan. I am really happy to be part of that SNG Team. And I’m looking to straight up ship the SNG.” Barnwal, if he wins the package, is a fairly strong delegate for the country in live events.

The top pros which finished in the money yesterday on Spartan include Ashish Ahuja (5th – INR 1,00,575), Kanishka Samant (6th – INR 78,225), Siddhanth Kapoor (7th – INR 62,580), Ashish Munot (10th – INR 33,525), Aditya Sushant (16th – INR 20,115), Faiz Alam (33rd – INR 13,410), Neel Joshi (35th – INR 13,410), Siddarth Singhvi (37th – INR 13,410) and Arsh Grover (38th – INR 13,410).

The Finale SnG will begin at 8 pm on 7th April 2019 so keep reading for the final winner who will earn the coveted Europe package and for general poker news from around the world.

Don’t have an account on Spartan Poker? Check out their review page here, and don’t miss out on their bonuses, promotions, and guarantee-smashing tournaments. Sign-up now.

Read more:


Event Dates Buy In
WPT Philippines 2020 6 Feb - 17 Feb PHP 80,000
Adda52 Online Poker Series (AOPS) 7 Feb - 16 Feb INR 11,000
Triton Poker Jeju 2020 10 Feb - 22 Feb HKD 1,000,000
APL Da Nang 2020 19 Feb - 28 Feb VND 25,300,000
AJPC Asia Millions Poker Championship 21 Feb - 24 Feb KRW 2,500,000
Asian Poker Tour (APT) Taiwan 2020 4 Mar - 15 Mar TWD 33,000