Sanat Mehrotra leads Day 1B; 159 from record 777 entries to start Day 2 at IPC Main Event

Posted On 15 Sep, 2019 0
Talk about repeating the magic just a day later! Yesterday we saw a fantastic turnout of 390 entries in the first flight of the IPC 35k Main Event and tonight saw an almost exact same number in Day 1B of the Main.
387 players was the countfor Day 1B when late registrations ended earlier this evening which takes the total number of entries in this Main Event to a mammoth 777 entries. This is the largest ever attendance record in terms of entries for a Main Event in India which means an incredible INR 2.67 Crores has been collected as the prizepool for this IPC Main Event. This superb turnout ensured that the original guarantee (1.6 Crores) of this tournament was crushed by over a crore! That 2.67 Crore prizepool will be distributed to the top 86 finishers with the winner of this prestigious Main Event taking home more than 49 Lakhs in first prize money!
The evening started slow once again with just about 120 participants taking their seats. Slowly but steadily that number swelled and with every passing hour we could see bust outs and re-entries taking place before the start of Level 9 ended late registrations. Some of the notables in the field included Shravan Chhabria, Sriharsha D, Jasven Saigal, Bobbe Suri, Sahil Mahboobani, Paawan Bansal, Sumit Sapra, Gokul Raj, Guneet Kwatra, Alok Birewar and many others joined in the next hour. As the tournament ended the first 4 levels, Jitesh Jain was in the lead being the only player who moved his stack into the 6-figure mark with Tushar Bansal (95k) and Hetal Desai (90k) following closely behind.
By the time the second break rolled around, we players like Bobbe Suri and Minissha Lamba in the thick of the action. Suri in fact was on a bit of a roll knocking out 3 players in minutes. Lamba on the other hand who already qualified from Day 1A albeit with a smallish stack of 55k, was looking to try and better than with a run in Day 1B. However it was not to be and she was one of the last few knockouts in the second starting flight. Other known names who could not make it to the end of Day 1B included Madhav Gupta, Sumit Sapra, Gokul Raj, Mani Singh and Nikita Luther. The WSOP bracelet winner was unable to get any traction and was on the featured table for a fair while as well before she was knocked out by Anil Adiani's pocket Queens.
The grind continued for many others though and by the end of the night we were left 82 players who had survived. It took a while but the Tournament Director and his team finally bagged and tagged the Day 1B survivors and ending Day 1B as a big chipleader is Sanat Mehrotra who has bagged a massive 452,000 chips. He has quite the lead over the next highest chip stack of Nitin Gupta (275000) and Mano Chaoha (272000) rounds off the top three stacks of the night.
Day 1A chipleader Awnish Singh with 508,000 chips is still the biggest stack from the two starting fights and Karan Mehta with 499,000 and Day 1B chip leader Sanat Mehrotra (452,000) round off the top 3 of the remaining 159 survivors going into Sunday afternoon's Day 2.
Here's a look at the top 10 stacks of Day 2:-
  1. Awnish Singh 5,08,000
  2. Karan Mehta 4,99,000
  3. Sanat Mehrotra 4,52,000
  4. Sanket Arora 3,98,000
  5. Rajat Sharma 3,72,000
  6. Ayush Garg 3,57,000
  7. Madan Kumar 3,50,000
  8. Rachit Soni 3,07,000
  9. Sandeep Thakral 2,94,000
  10. Mukesh Surana 2,80,000
Action starts on Sunday at 3:00 pm in the Spartan Live poker room at the Big Daddy Casino and we will be there to cover it all so stay tuned to for not just live updates from the Main Event but also from the final event of the series - 15k Headhunter as well as images of the Instagram King himself Dan Bilzerian who is expected to make an appearance later tonight at the IPC!


Event Dates Buy In
Baazi Poker Tour 2 Jan - 14 Jan INR 35,000
Red Dragon Manila 2020 4 Jan - 11 Jan PHP 110,000
Aussie Millions 2020 4 Jan - 24 Jan AUD 10,600
APT Kickoff Ho Chi Minh 8 Jan - 19 Jan TBD
India Poker Championship 15 Jan - 19 Jan INR 50,000
APPT Open Taipei 2020 31 Jan - 9 Feb TWD 35,000