Simona wins TIPS Main Event; 7 Indians cash out

Posted On 21 Aug, 2018 0

The Indian Poker Series (TIPS) made its debut in Europe, with a 6-day series being held at the Kings Casino in Rozvadov, Czech Republic. It was a thrilling series that began on 15th August, our country's 72nd Independence Day, and concluded yesterday, with a couple of side events and the Main Event coming to an end. One of those side events included the TIPS High Roller, which was shipped by Kanishk Upreti.

Indian players scored cashes in almost all of the scheduled events, but overall, managed just the one title. The Main Event kicked off a couple of days back with a buy-in of €220 (~INR 17,700) and a total of four starting flights. At the end of these flights, a field of 494 entries (394 unique + 100 re-entries) registered to the event.

The prize pool fell slightly short of the €100k guarantee and at the end of the proceedings, it was Czech Republic local player Simona who won the tournament and took home the biggest prize of €18,406 (~INR 14.81 lakh), which was not only the biggest prize of the Main Event but also the biggest prize given away in the series.

The top 55 players of the original field were paid out a minimum cash of €466 and totally, 7 Indian players finished in the money, with Hetalkumar Desai finishing as the best ranked Indian player, taking home a prize of €1,150 (~INR 45,300) for finishing in 35th. All Indian cashes in the TIPS Main Event:

  • 35th - Hetalkumar Desai - €561
  • 44th - Varun Gupta - €466
  • 45th - Manish Goenka - €466
  • 47th - Anish Patra - €466
  • 49th - Roshan Romeo Rodrigues - €466
  • 51st - Ankit Saxena - €466
  • 53rd - Tanveer Singh Kohli - €466

Keep reading for regular updates on major poker tournaments from around the world.

Read more:


Event Dates Buy In
WPT Philippines 2020 6 Feb - 17 Feb PHP 80,000
Adda52 Online Poker Series (AOPS) 7 Feb - 16 Feb INR 11,000
Triton Poker Jeju 2020 10 Feb - 22 Feb HKD 1,000,000
APL Da Nang 2020 19 Feb - 28 Feb VND 25,300,000
AJPC Asia Millions Poker Championship 21 Feb - 24 Feb KRW 2,500,000
Asian Poker Tour (APT) Taiwan 2020 4 Mar - 15 Mar TWD 33,000