Siyoung Lee crushes APT Championships Event in Manila

Posted On 07 May, 2019 0

The Asian Poker Tour (APT) is among the most prestigious brands in poker in Asia and very recently, they wrapped up yet another series. APT Philippines ran between April 24 and May 5 at Resorts World Manila, Pasay City, Philippines, and we're here to report the last few winners of the series.

Of course, the biggest winner was that from the APT Championships Event, where Korea’s Siyoung Lee rose to victory after overcoming a chip deficit against Japan's Iori Yogo in heads-up. Yogo is a 2-time champion and one of the best in tournament play across Asia, which makes Lee's victory extremely special.

It's not easy to beat such massive fields and Lee did that, for which APT rewarded him with the top prize of PHP 5,295,900 (~INR 70.7 Lakh), to go with the exclusive APT Championship Ring and Trophy. This win of $100k+ has nearly tripled Lee's career live winnings, while also registering his first ever APT triumph.

A record-breaking field of 316 entries joined the tournament, with each one paying the PHP 82,500 entry fee. India's Yasheel Doddanavar was also a part of the action, progressing as one of the top stacks on Day 1A. However, he wasn't a part of the final 32 players which were all paid out with a min-cash of PHP 153,900. In another High Rollers Event though, Doddanavar came 2nd to win INR 16+ Lakh in prize money.

In the final hand, Lee shoved on the 9-3-J-4 turn having hit a pair of Jacks with his J-5. Yogo made the call and revealed pocket Queens, initially ahead. However, he didn't continue to be for too long, as the river saw a 5 and Lee won with Jacks and Fives, narrowly denying Yogo a third title. Yogo is a very popular player in the circuit and we had an in-depth interview with him earlier this year. Here at APT Philippines, he went on the win the Player of the Series award too!

Final table results:

  1. Siyoung Lee - PHP 5,295,900
  2. Iori Yogo - PHP 3,530,300
  3. Ken Foo Hsien Loong - PHP 2,454,200
  4. Byungwook Ahn - PHP 1,772,600
  5. Gyeong Byeong Lee - PHP 1,325,600
  6. Inaki Santos - PHP 1,023,100
  7. Li Rongshan - PHP 812,500
  8. Seongsu Kong - PHP 661,900

For more updates on the top poker tournaments in India, Asia and around the world, keep following

Check out our online poker rooms section, where you can read reviews on the biggest and best poker rooms in the country, while also taking advantage of their bonuses and promotions. Check out these top poker rooms HERE.

Read more:

Image courtesy: AsianPokerTour 


Event Dates Buy In
APT Taiwan 2019 9 Oct - 20 Oct TBD
WSOP Europe 2019 13 Oct - 2 Nov €10,350
WPT India 2019 15 Oct - 21 Oct INR 55,000
Asia Open Poker Tour 2019 1 Nov - 4 Nov TBD