Team India becomes IFMP Asian Champions!

Posted On 08 Nov, 2019 0

A power-packed team of seven Indians, showcasing their individual skills, holding identical cards and sitting on different tables is how India brought home the title of the Asian Nations Cup Champions! Taoyuan City in Taiwan ran a 4-day long tournament from 5-8 November hosting 2019 International Federation of Match Poker (IFMP) Asian Nations Cup.

The tournament saw 9 participating teams battling to secure the top 5 spots in the World Championships to be held in Peru including Australia, Hong Kong, India, Israel, Japan, Korea, Philippines and Singapore. And Team India created history to be crowned the Champions of Asia!

Although the Indians qualified 2 days earlier, they battled it out to win the tournament yesterday. The bottom five - Israel, Korea, Japan, Philippines, Hong Kong were in the race for the last spot. And with that Korea took the lead with 839 points and unfortunately Team Israel with 778 points and Team Hong Kong with 725 points were knocked out along with the Philippines and Japan.

Team India comprised of Aditya ‘Bitti’ Agarwal, Krina Gala, Prateek Mishra, Rishab Jain, Tanmay Bagga, Tarun Mundkar and the captain Gaurav Gala. The team topped from the initial day itself and Day 2 witnessed them at the top of the leaderboard ensuring their way to World Championship in Peru to take place on December 3. The road to success was topsy turvy, nevertheless, the Indians didn’t fail to miss out on their lead leaving Taiwan behind.

President of the Indian federation, Varun Goenka, said “This is a dream come true and I’m still struggling to wrap my head around what this incredible team has achieved. All credit goes to the players and captain Gaurav Gala for doing something absolutely monumental for poker in India. They are all superstars - this is a day we will all remember and cherish forever. They have made history and are now fully focused on doing their best and representing India with pride at the Nations Cup Final in Peru next month. I couldn’t be more proud.”

See the winning moment:

Besides, the broadcasting partner MTV will run another edition of Match Indian Poker League (Match IPL) Season 4 to be held in Mumbai between 13-14 November 2019. For more such updates on poker tournaments around the world, keep reading and stay tuned!

Check out our online poker rooms section, where you can read reviews on the biggest and best poker rooms in the country, while also taking advantage of their bonuses and promotions. Check out these top poker rooms HERE.

Read more:


Event Dates Buy In
World Poker Tour (WPT) Taiwan 2020 27 Mar - 6 Apr TWD 30,000
Asian Poker Tour (APT) Da Nang 2020 7 Apr - 18 Apr TBD
End Boss INR 5 Crore GTD 15 Apr - 19 Apr INR 11,000
Asia Poker League (APL) Taiwan 2020 21 Apr - 27 Apr TBD
Asian Poker Tour (APT) Philippines 2020 27 Apr - 10 May TBD
National Poker Series 29 Apr - 5 May INR 15,000