Team India for 2019 PPPoker Championship announced

Posted On 08 Feb, 2019 0

The PPPoker World Championship 2019 (PPWC) is set to be hosted for the first time at Resorts World Manila, Philippines, between 15-21 February 2019. The total prize pool kept aside for the series is PHP 20 million (~INR 2.65 Crores). The festival will see 15 different events in the 7-day period and among those is the PHP 550k Teams Event.

5 teams to play in this Teams Event have been announced. They are – India, Malaysia, Thailand, Brazil and Norway, with Australia, USA and Philippines expected to announce their teams as well. The Teams Event is going to be the Kickoff event of the series and will set the pace for the rest of the festivities.

Coming to the Indian team, it currently Rishab Jain and Kalyan Chakravarty, while Pulkit Totla will fill the captain’s position in the team. All three have staggering achievements behind them and the country’s poker community will have no complaints about the line-up. The 9-member team will be announced in coming days and will be updated here as soon as we get more details. 

Totla is a well-known entity in the industry, not just as a player but a partner with top poker operators of the country. Rishab Jain is also an acclaimed community player who has significant achievements on the felts. Internationally speaking, he has played in 2018 WSOP Main Event and had also reached Day 2. On the home-front, Jain was the winner of a Mercedes and Harley, through promotions on Spartan. He also won the SS PLO HR on Spartan in October last year and earned himself almost INR 9 Lakhs in a night.

Chakravarthy also needs no introduction since he is easily one of the tops when it comes to high-stakes live poker in India. He has so many deep runs and title wins that listing them all in this article would be ridiculous. Among his latest achievements was WPT India HR for INR 37 Lakhs last November. He will obviously prove to be a vital element in the team and including him in the team was a great idea.

Team Malaysia includes Darian Tan, Ying Lin Chua, Alex Foo, Alvin Mak, Paul Teoh and Xiu Meng. Team Thailand includes Kannapong Thanarattrakul (captain), Thanisorn Saelor, Kajornnut Prirungrueng, and Wanchana Valaikanok. Team Brazil, one of two teams from the western hemisphere includes Gabriela Belisario, Rafael Oliveira, Natanael Silva, Caio Hey, Eder Murata, and Marcelo Lanza. Lastly, Team Norway consists of Borge Dypvik (captain), Markus Garberg, Henrik Tollefsen, and Thomas Floan.

The tournament will feature 3 different formats – 6-Max SnG, Double Heads Up and Heads Up. The top 8 teams finishing Day 1 will advance to Day 2 and the top two 2 teams from Day 2 shall compete against each other on the Final Day. The teams will have to play three different kinds of events, and will be ranked by the total points the members earn. For Team India, Chakravarthy and Jain will be taking part in the Heads Up Event.

Keep reading for more details on the team formation for PPWC as well as general poker news from around the world.

Check out our online poker rooms section, where you can read reviews on the biggest and best poker rooms in the country, while also taking advantage of their bonuses and promotions. Check out these top poker rooms HERE.

Read more:

Image courtesy: SoMuchPoker


Event Dates Buy In
APPT Manila 2019 26 Jul - 4 Aug PHP 65,000
APT Korea Incheon 2 Aug - 13 Aug KRW 1,320,000
APT Philippines 11 Sep - 22 Sep TBD
India Poker Championship - September 2019 11 Sep - 15 Sep INR 35,000
APT Taiwan 9 Oct - 20 Oct TBD
AJPC Asian Circuit - Incheon 2 10 Oct - 14 Oct TBA