Vikram Kumar leads 11 players at WPT India 20k Kick-Off

Posted On 16 Oct, 2019 0

The wait finally came to an end yesterday as the World Poker Tour (WPT) launched its third edition in Goa, India. The series takes place on board the Deltin Royale Casino in Goa as it did in the previous two seasons as well. Yesterday, we began with the INR 20k Kick-Off Event which was won by Aditya Sushant last year!

This time, registration was open till the end of Level 6 and when the clock timed out, we had a total count of 161 entries, each paying the buy-in and getting a starting stack of 15,000 chips. Many notables were spotted in the field including Aditya Sushant, Sumit Sapra, Eka Vedantham, Meherzad Munsaf, Jayjit Ray, Maria Kirloskar, BPT Kickoff winner Abhijeet R Shetty and others.

The prize pool generated from this field was INR 30,29,376 and this was to be shared by the top 21 places with a min-cash of INR 39,400. The bubble burst on Ashish Motwani (22nd) and the payouts began, with just 11 players in contention at the end of the day. Some known players to get paid yesterday were Kartik Ved (21st), Harsh Dembla (19th), Jayjit Ray (16th), BPT HR winner Rohit Jinwal (15th), and Rubin Labroo (13th).

Headlining these survivors is the very popular Vikram 'Lungi' Kumar with a massive chip stack of 605,000, the next best being far away at 360,000 chips. Kumar has been doing well in recent times, cashing in the IPC last month and also in the recently concluded BPT. Other known names in contention are Vaibhav Sharma, Vineet Kumar and Jaydeep Dawer.

Final 11 chip counts:

  1. Vikram Kumar - 605,000
  2. Himanshu Arora - 360,000
  3. Aayush G - 257,000
  4. Vaibhav Sharma - 236,000
  5. Aswees N - 191,000
  6. Jaydeep Dawer - 173,000
  7. Nirav Parekh - 136,000
  8. Deepak Raina - 106,000
  9. Vineet Kumar - 69,000
  10. Anand Babu - 62,000
  11. Guru Kumar - 22,000

Day 2 of the 20k Kickoff Event resumes today at the same venue at 2:30pm and we will play down to a winner, who will be awarded a WPT India trophy and the top prize of INR 8.05 Lakh. Keep following for all updates on the same.

Don’t have an account on Adda52 as yet? You can check out their review page before joining their platform, and could soon become the next winner of any of their top tournaments. You can also sign-up HERE.

Read more:

Image courtesy: OnlinePokerNews


Event Dates Buy In
WPT Philippines 2020 6 Feb - 17 Feb PHP 80,000
Adda52 Online Poker Series (AOPS) 7 Feb - 16 Feb INR 11,000
Triton Poker Jeju 2020 10 Feb - 22 Feb HKD 1,000,000
APL Da Nang 2020 19 Feb - 28 Feb VND 25,300,000
AJPC Asia Millions Poker Championship 21 Feb - 24 Feb KRW 2,500,000
Asian Poker Tour (APT) Taiwan 2020 4 Mar - 15 Mar TWD 33,000