Vinod Megalmani leads final table of BPT 50k Main Event

Posted On 14 Oct, 2019 0

The Baazi Poker Tour (BPT) has been a massive success so far and the comeback series is currently hosting the highlight tournament - the INR 50k Main Event. The tournament had four starting flights and from the original field of 567 entries, the final 91 took their seats at the tables last night on board Casino Pride 2 in Goa.

63 places are being paid in the Main Event and by 5pm last evening, the money bubble burst on Shashwat Jain who headed out in 64th place. Some of the notables to cash early were Sumit Sapra (63rd), Arsh Grover (60th), Anant Purohit (58th), Akshay Nasa (56th), Kartik Ved (53rd), Kunal Patni (51st), Madhav Gupta (49th), Pranav Bang (42nd), Abhishek Goindi (39th), Vasim Rozani (33rd), and Vivek Rughani (32nd).

As the night went on and the payouts increased, we saw a few more high profile bust-outs including those of Muskan Sethi (23rd), Ashish Munot (21st), Wilson Yomso (19th), Alok Birewar (17th), Day 1D chip leader Gangadhar Raj (16th), Phanindra Akkina (13th), Sahil Agarwal (12th) and others. Play finally stopped when only 9 players were still in contention.

These nine are being led by Vinod Megalmani who is a frequent live and online player with a few cashes to his name in WSOP 2019 and his biggest online victory being the Spartan Millionaire in December last year. Here, he goes into the final day of the BPT Main Event with a stack of 2.87 million, followed by Chirag Sodha (2.53 million) and Bharat Kumar (2.4 million).

Day 1C chip leader Neel Joshi is still in contention with a stack of 1.98 million chips while the very experienced Dhaval 'Dirty' Mudgal is on yet another final table with a stack of 2.1 million. Mudgal is coming off FT finishes in both the High Roller as well as the Main Event of the India Poker Championship in Goa last month.

Final 9 chip counts:

  1. Vinod Megalmani - 2,870,000
  2. Chirag Sodha - 2,530,000
  3. Bharat Kumar - 2,405,000
  4. Dhaval Mudgal - 2,165,000
  5. Hitesh Batra - 2,145,000
  6. Neel Joshi - 1,985,000
  7. Abhinav Iyer - 1,435,000
  8. Maria Kirloskar - 730,000
  9. Tarun G - 610,000

Action resumes at 3pm today where we will play down to a new BPT Main Event champion, and you can get all updates on the same here on

Don’t have an account on PokerBaazi? If you wish to play and become a big winner of their massive tournaments and promotions, sign-up now by clicking HERE.

Read more:

Image courtesy: PokerGuru


Event Dates Buy In
WPT Philippines 2020 6 Feb - 17 Feb PHP 80,000
Adda52 Online Poker Series (AOPS) 7 Feb - 16 Feb INR 11,000
Triton Poker Jeju 2020 10 Feb - 22 Feb HKD 1,000,000
APL Da Nang 2020 19 Feb - 28 Feb VND 25,300,000
AJPC Asia Millions Poker Championship 21 Feb - 24 Feb KRW 2,500,000
Asian Poker Tour (APT) Taiwan 2020 4 Mar - 15 Mar TWD 33,000