WPT Cambodia: Crawshaw wins HR Turbo; Katoch ends 4th

Posted On 27 Nov, 2019 0

Marking an end to the World Poker Tour (WPT) Cambodia Main Event, one shouldn’t miss out on the various side events in the 10-day long series hitting the country for the first time with a smashing and record-breaking field at NagaWorld Phnom Penh. While the world was geared up to witness numerous players kick-starting their live career, Indian viewers engaged onto their screens to observe the country’s leading contenders on the casino ground.

$650 Megastack Freezeout

The 2-day event, Megastack Freezeout pulled out a total number of 150 players for a buy-in of $650. Drawing a prize pool of $85,845 the money was shared by the top 19 finishers. Topping the field and taking away the lion’s share of the same was Leo Worthington Leese who grabbed $23,699 as his career first title! He railed out the WPT Cambodia Kickoff winner and China’s Yunsheng Sun in heads-up.

As we all know, Indians participants were scattered throughout the festival. A sizeable group of Indians finishing in the money include Paawan Bansal resting at 5th with $4,163 (~INR 2.96 Lakhs), Gokul Raj Dharmarajan at 6th along with $3,348 (~INR 2.38 Lakhs), Madhav Gupta falling in 7th for $3,005 (~INR 2.14 Lakhs) and Ravi Metlapalli at 13th position with $1,760 (~INR 1.25 Lakhs).

Top 10 final payouts:

  1. Leo Worthington – $23,699
  2. Yunsheng Sun – $15,023
  3. Guiyang Wang – $8,842
  4. Saeid Ebrahimi – $5,368
  5. Paawan Bansal – $4,163
  6. Gokul Raj Dharmarajan – $3,348
  7. Madhav Gupta – $3,005
  8. Deding Xu – $2,683
  9. Kai Paulsen – $2,370
  10. Kien Tat Heng – $2,060

$300 NagaWorld Superstack Freezeout Classic

The ultimate day of the WPT Cambodia had a $300 buy-in to NagaWorld Superstack Freezeout Classic enticing 154 players. Norway’s Kai Danilo Bergerud Paulsen topped the field to bag the title and $7,800 prize money pushing away Thailand’s Suchart Angunsri in the second place.

Several Indians were also a part of the tournament and finished in the money including Kshitij Kucheria at 8th place for $1,258 (~INR 89,672), Paawan Bansal at 11th with $948 (~INR 67,642), Ravi Metlapalli at 20th position for $565 (~INR 40,314).

Final table payouts:

  1. Kai Danilo Bergerud Paulsen – $7,800
  2. Suchart Angunsri – $6,150
  3. Frederic Pauchereau – $4,045
  4. Anthony Abram – $6,540
  5. Wei Liang Tan – $1,946
  6. Rindra Norodom – $1,613
  7. Siew Po Teh – $1,402
  8. Kshitij Kucheria – $1,258
  9. Le Ngoc Khanh – $1,084

$2,150 High Roller Turbo

The final day hosting High Roller Turbo was running parallel with the WPT Main Event. With buy-in $2,150, the last event pulled out 28 players. Only 4 top finishers were assured a share from the prize pool of $54,320. After all, it was Hamish Crawshaw (picture below) who outlasted the field, triumphing the closing day for $24,445 and lifting the crystal trophy! India’s Rajneesh Katoch entered the final table and was able to make an impressive finish at 4th position pocketing $5,975 (~INR 4.28 Lakhs).

Final table payouts:

  1. Hamish Crawshaw – $24,445
  2. Jianfeng Sun – $14,666
  3. Michael Robert Hahn – $9,234
  4. Rajneesh Katoch – $5,975

For the latest updates on poker news and tournaments taking place around the world, keep reading GutshotMagazine.com and stay tuned!

Sign-up to PokerSaint using code "GUT100". Also, check out our online poker rooms section, where you can read reviews on the biggest and best poker rooms in the country, while also taking advantage of their bonuses and promotions. Check out these top poker rooms HERE.

Read more:

Image courtesy: SoMuchPoker


Event Dates Buy In
World Poker Tour (WPT) Taiwan 2020 27 Mar - 6 Apr TWD 30,000
Asian Poker Tour (APT) Da Nang 2020 7 Apr - 18 Apr TBD
End Boss INR 5 Crore GTD 15 Apr - 19 Apr INR 11,000
Asia Poker League (APL) Taiwan 2020 21 Apr - 27 Apr TBD
Asian Poker Tour (APT) Philippines 2020 27 Apr - 10 May TBD
National Poker Series 29 Apr - 5 May INR 15,000