WSOPE: Bertrand Grospellier wins Event #15: The Colossus

Posted On 05 Nov, 2019 0

The busiest Event #15: €550 Colossus No-Limit Hold'em comprising of 9 starting flights in the World Series of Poker Europe (WSOPE) registered a total number of 2,738 entries, the biggest field in the entire series running since October 28 at King's Casino. Finally coming to a standstill yesterday, the French poker pro Bertrand “ElkY” Grospellier outlasted the field, lifting the coveted gold bracelet and €190,375 prize money.

The 9 starting flights attracted a huge number of pros and bracelet winners to generate a prize pool of €1,300,550. Majority of which was paid out to the top 313 players who advanced to Day 2. A good number of Indian participation was also witnessed, mostly those who have been playing quite frequently in King's Casino, Rozvadov. The showdown resumed with 11 on the table, each surviving through the challenging day to secure the last and 15th gold bracelet.

Grospellier fired three bullets in the entire event, having one min-cash of €797 where he busted in the last-hand of Day 1G but eventually managed to secure his spot on Day 2. The Frenchman has reserved his seat at the top in France’s All-Time money list and took home his career second gold bracelet with now accumulating total live earnings of over $14 million.

The champion entered the final day with 6,450,000 chips and proved to be a danger to the 4-time bracelet winner Shaun Deeb who was the first to be eliminated on the final day. The field narrowed down to final 6 and eventually Christoph Peper, Marian Kubis, and Day 2 chip leader Mick Heder. And that’s when heads-up began between Grospellier and Avraham Dayan, the latter unable to bridge the gap as the Frenchmen held pocket tens against his ace-ten suited while also waiting for a gutshot, the river card made no difference and the winner took all.

Final top 11 payouts

  1. Bertrand Grospellier - €190,375 (~INR 1.49 Crores)
  2. Avraham Dayan - €117,630
  3. Marian Kubis - €86,172
  4. Mick Heder - €63,670
  5. Dieter Becker - €47,452
  6. Christoph Peper - €35,674
  7. Sergii Karpov - €27,057
  8. Alessandro Pezzoli - €20,703
  9. Francesco Candelari - €15,984
  10. Pasquale Braco - €12,453
  11. Shaun Deeb - €12,453

For latest updates on poker news and tournaments around the world keep reading and stay tuned!

Check out our online poker rooms section, where you can read reviews on the biggest and best poker rooms in the country, while also taking advantage of their bonuses and promotions. Check out these top poker rooms HERE.

Read more:

Image Courtesy: PokerNews


Event Dates Buy In
Baazi Poker Tour 2 Jan - 14 Jan INR 35,000
Red Dragon Manila 2020 4 Jan - 11 Jan PHP 110,000
Aussie Millions 2020 4 Jan - 24 Jan AUD 10,600
APT Kickoff Ho Chi Minh 8 Jan - 19 Jan TBD
India Poker Championship 15 Jan - 19 Jan INR 50,000
APPT Open Taipei 2020 31 Jan - 9 Feb TWD 35,000