Yasheel Doddanavar progresses from APT Philippines ME Day 1A

Posted On 27 Apr, 2019 0

One of the leading poker tour operators of the eastern hemisphere, Asian Poker Tour (APT), opened its shop in the bustling south east Asian country of Philippines recently. The tour is currently busy hosting the 2019 APT Philippines I, and the highlight PHP 10 Million GTD Main Event saw its first starting flight in the books yesterday.

The venue is Resorts World Manila, and the Main Event began yesterday in the poker room inside the casino, located in Pasay City. A total of 124 players signed up for the action. The field, eventually whittling down to 56 progressors, saw some intense competition, and ended with China’s Xiaobo Zhou (pictured above) becoming the chip leader with 145,900 chips.

India’s Yasheel Doddanavar (pictured below in another event) was also in the mix, fresh from running deep in recently held APPT Korea in Incheon. He has progressed to Day 2 with a sizeable stack of 85,300, finishing at 8th in chip counts and above heavyweights like Denmark’s Michael Kim Falcon (9th) and Vincent Chauve (10th).

Doddanavar has been running extremely well this year. In APPT Korea, he took part in Short Deck, and finished on the FT at 3rd place and earned ~INR 4.58 Lakhs for his efforts. The format is not so popular among Indians which makes his run even more impressive. In the same series at Incheon, he bagged 7th place and ~INR 14.88 Lakhs in the High Roller too, another laudable achievement indeed!

Some of the notables to qualify in APT Philippines ME Day 1A were two-time APT Main Event champion Henrik Tollefsen (53,400 chips), Linh Tran (36,800 chips) and John Tech (73,700 chips). Day 1B of the event will be played starting at 1 pm local time and players who progress from this will join the 56 from 1A on 28th April, when Day 2 begins.

Top 10 Chip Counts of Day 1A -

  1. Xiaobo Zhou - 145,900
  2. Jiego C. Erquiaga - 126,800
  3. Harunobu Kojima - 114,200
  4. Sandro Bruni - 113,200
  5. Tomoharu Furuya - 109,900
  6. Sze Chi Fu - 89,500
  7. Cao Ngoc Anh - 86,600
  8. Yasheel Doddanavar - 85,300
  9. Michael Falcon - 81,100
  10. Vincent Chauve - 79,300

Stay tuned to GutshotMagaizne.com for more such tournament updates and for general poker news from around the world.

Do you have an account on Uma Poker? You wouldn’t want to miss out on their registration and deposit bonuses, including INR 200 FREE for every new user. To avail this, sign-up HERE using code “GUTSHOT100”. Also, read our online poker rooms section, to know about the biggest and best poker rooms in the country.

Read more:

Image Courtesy - APT/SoMuchPoker


Event Dates Buy In
APPT Manila 2019 26 Jul - 4 Aug PHP 65,000
APT Korea Incheon 2 Aug - 13 Aug KRW 1,320,000
APT Philippines 11 Sep - 22 Sep TBD
India Poker Championship - September 2019 11 Sep - 15 Sep INR 35,000
APT Taiwan 9 Oct - 20 Oct TBD
AJPC Asian Circuit - Incheon 2 10 Oct - 14 Oct TBA