Yet another Destiny title for Sriharsha Doddapaneni!

Posted On 16 May, 2019 0

They call him one of the best poker players in the country and it's not for no reason. Sriharsha Doddapaneni is always killing it, both on live felts as well as on the virtual felts. He has a ton of achievements to his name and last night, he added another cap to his feather, winning Destiny on Spartan Poker.

Destiny INR 20 Lakh GTD is among the most popular tournaments on Spartan, if not the most popular. Every Wednesday, the cream of the industry shells out the buy-in of INR 5,500 each to participate in this tournament which gives away massive top prizes plus a chance to participate in the Destiny SnG Finale.

Destiny 9.0 is currently underway, and Sriharsha D won it last night, playing as 'GTOsucks' on Spartan Poker. Incidentally, this isn't the first time he has won Destiny, having won a tournament in Destiny 7.0 and another one in the inaugural Destiny 1.0 edition. What's better is that he went on to ship both Finales, one in August 2017 and another one in January 2019.

He won international poker trips from Spartan in both those editions, but Destiny 9.0 is slightly different, where the Finale SnG will still have a prize pool of INR 10 Lakh. However, this will be shared among the top 3 winners, and NO package trip will be offered. Sriharsha also missed another Destiny title when he lost to Abhinav Iyer in heads-up last month, so it's easy to call him the GOAT of Destiny on Spartan Poker.

Coming back to last night's tournament, it was the usual 9:00pm start which ended today morning at 4:42am after a grind of nearly 8 hours. 440 entries broke the guarantee and created a new prize pool of INR 22 Lakh which was then shared among the top 40 finishers with a min-cash of INR 13,200.

Quite a few known names were a part of the action and those who cashed included Ram Kakkar (38th), Ashish Ahuja (36th), Ujjwal Narwal (34th), Rajat Mahajan (30th), Siddhanth Kapoor (29th), Zarvan Tumboli (20th), Arjanveer Chadha (18th), Mithun Mahesh (16th), Rohit Mishra (13th), Sumit Sapra (12th), Battlefield Day 1A chip leader Siddharth Karia (8th), and Srihari Bang (7th).

Soon, heads-up began between Doddapaneni and another upcoming live/online poker player, Ankur Sehgal aka 'Crimemastergogo'. Here, Sriharsha managed to soon get a 5:1 chip lead and it was only a matter of time before he was crowned champion. In a PFAI situation, Sriharsha won with Queens and Threes over a pair of Threes to bag the top prize of INR 5,83,000. As for Sehgal, he was rewarded with INR 3,63,000 for his good run that ended in second place.

Until the next Destiny update from the coming Wednesday night, keep following for all things poker in India and around the world.

Don’t have an account on The Spartan Poker? Check out their review page here, and don’t miss out on their bonuses, promotions, and guarantee-smashing tournaments. Sign-up now.

Read more:


Event Dates Buy In
India Online Poker Championship (IOPC) 24 Jan - 9 Feb INR 11,000
APPT Open Taipei 2020 31 Jan - 9 Feb TWD 35,000
The Indian Poker Series (TIPS) 3 Feb - 10 Feb TBD
WPT Philippines 2020 6 Feb - 17 Feb PHP 80,000
Adda52 Online Poker Series (AOPS) 7 Feb - 16 Feb INR 11,000
Triton Poker Jeju 2020 10 Feb - 22 Feb HKD 1,000,000