Yong Kwon, Alex Epstein win maiden WSOP gold bracelets

Posted On 05 Jun, 2019 0

Event #7: $400 WSOP.com ONLINE NLHE

This year, a record number of 9 WSOP gold bracelets were scheduled to be given away via online events, allowing you to win these prestigious awards while not being physically present within the Rio All Suites in Las Vegas. Event #7: $400 WSOP.com ONLINE NLHE was the first online event of WSOP 2019 and it came to an end a couple of days back.

1,965 players along with 860 re-buys made for a total of 2,825 entries which became one of the biggest online fields in WSOP history. Yong Keun Kwon aka 'LuckySpewy1' emerged victorious eventually, bagging the top prize of $165,263 after beating Gabor 'MeatisMurder' Szabo in heads-up. 15-time bracelet winner Phil Hellmuth tweeted to announce he was 'lumestackin' and he ultimately finished 5th in this tournament.

Final Results:

  1. Yong 'LuckySpewy1' Kwon - $165,263
  2. Gabor 'MeatisMurder' Szabo - $99,361
  3. Scott 'merrick' Eskenazi - $73,021
  4. Frederic 'LeakStain' Roetker - $53,494
  5. Phil 'lumestackin' Hellmuth - $39,460
  6. Phillip 'DjPhiLWiLL' Raetz - $29,493
  7. Dan 'MeatJustice' O'Brien - $22,374
  8. Steve 'FlatcallSPC' Cicak - $17,086
  9. Samuel 'Roopert' Uhlmann - $13,199

Event #8: $10,000 Short Deck

So far, it has been a year for all first-time WSOP bracelet winners, and this Short Deck tournament also ended with a new champion being crowned. 114 entries registered to the $10k buy-in tournament which was played in the increasingly popular Short Deck format.

USA's Alex Epstein ended the winner after he sent some of the world's best poker pros to the rail, even denying 3-time bracelet winner Chance Kornuth. Talking about the win, Epstein said, "Walking to the Rio today, I was thinking that I just wanted to enjoy the experience. I knew that the other good players at the final table were shorter stacks so I had a very good chance if things broke my way."

Final Table Results:

  1. Alex Epstein - $296,227
  2. Thai Ha - $183,081
  3. Anson Tsang - $130,482
  4. Chance Kornuth - $93,593
  5. Rene van Krevelen - $67,566
  6. Yong Wang - $49,095
  7. Andrew Robl - $35,907

For more updates on the World Series of Poker (WSOP), keep following GutshotMagazine.com.

Check out our online poker rooms section, where you can read reviews on the biggest and best poker rooms in the country, while also taking advantage of their bonuses and promotions. Check out these top poker rooms HERE.

Read more:


Event Dates Buy In
WPT Korea 20 Sep - 23 Sep KRW 1,650,000
PokerBaazi Premier League 20 Sep - 29 Sep INR 11,000
APL Ho Chi Minh 2019 4 Oct - 14 Oct VND 16,500,000
APT Taiwan 9 Oct - 20 Oct TBD
Baazi Poker Tour 9 Oct - 14 Oct INR 50,000
APT Taiwan 2019 9 Oct - 20 Oct TBD