16+ CR GTD
Header banner - Calling Stn
Pokersaint - Lead
List of Winners at the American Poker Awards Poker

List of Winners at the American Poker Awards

by Team Gutshot Posted on 26 Feb, 2018

At the start of this year, Global Poker Index (GPI) announced that they will be returning with the American Poker Awards for the 4th successive year, to hand out awards to the top players of 2017 across various categories. The ceremony took place on 22nd February at the Sunset Strip, Andaz West Hollywood in Los Angeles, after three years of being hosted in Beverly Hills.

PokerStars was the presenting sponsor of the ceremony, at which a total of 20 awards were given out, and Andrew Neeme and Poker Central took home top honours. Poker player Neeme won awards for Video Blogger of the Year and People’s Choice Award, while Poker Central won two as well – Media Content and Podcast.

Full list of awards given out at the 2018 APA’s:

  • 2017 GPI American Player of the Year – Bryn Kenney
  • 2017 GPI Female Player of the Year – Kristen Bicknell
  • People’s Choice Award – Andrew Neeme
  • Breakout Player – Artur Papazyan
  • Tournament Performance – Scott Blumstein (WSOP Main Event)
  • Moment of the Year – Ema Zajmovic (First woman to win a WPT title)
  • Event of the Year – partypoker MILLIONS North America
  • Mid-Major Circuit Event – WPTDeepStacks
  • Podcast – Poker Central Podcast
  • Video Blogger – Andrew Neeme
  • Poker Streamer – Jaime Staples
  • Broadcaster of the Year – Nick Schulman
  • Journalist of the Year – Lance Bradley
  • Media Content – Poker Central (Dead Money: A Super High Roller Bowl Story)
  • Industry Person – Matt Savage
  • Poker’s Biggest Influencer – Cary Katz
  • Lifetime Achievement in Poker – Norman Chad, Lon McEachern
  • Charitable Initiative – Jacob Zalewski (One Step Closer Foundation)
  • Jury Prize – Eric Danis
  • PocketFives Legacy Award – Ari Engel

“Massive thanks to everyone who voted in the American Poker Awards. When all the hours put into a project resulted in true value for the audience (entertainment, info, or whatever the case) it’s an awesome feeling,” said Andrew Neeme, who received over 10,000 fan votes, beating the likes of Daniel Negreanu, Jonathan Little, and Doug Polk for the People’s Choice Award.

Keep watching GutshotMagazine.com for similar poker news from around the world!


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Dangal box

Top 10 Poker Rooms

  • Calling Station
    Calling Station

    Instant withdrawal; Use “RELOAD20” on deposits for 20% locked bonus
    Offer: "GUTSHT" Register

  • 9stacks

    Instant withdrawal; 100% locked bonus on first deposit
    Offer: "9GUTSHOT Register

  • PokerSaint

    60-seconds withdrawal; 100% locked bonus on first deposit
    Offer: "GUT100" Register

  • Poker Dangal
    Poker Dangal

    INR 500 Free on sign-up; (120 Locked, 330 Ticket, 50 Instant)
    Offer: 150% on first deposit up to INR 5,000 Register

  • Natural8

    Sign-up code "GUTSHOT"
    Offer: Up to $100 free tickets Register

  • Spartan Poker
    Spartan Poker

    Sign-up with "GUTSHOT"
    Offer: "GUT300X" to get 300% on your deposit Register

  • PokerStellar

    INR 500 Free on KYC verification; 280 Instant Bonus + 220 Ticket
    Offer: 150% Locked and 20% Instant Bonus on first deposit Register

  • GGpoker

    Sign-up with code "GUTSHOT"
    Offer: Welcome Bonus - 100% upto $600 Register

  • FTR 2.0
    FTR 2.0

    Sign-up with "GSFTR"
    Offer: 100% Bonus on deposit with "WC2500" Register

  • Gotham City Poker
    Gotham City Poker

    $10 FREE on signing up!
    Offer: "GUTSHOT" Register

BSU box banner

Want to share your thoughts about poker?

Then click the button to submit your article.

Facebook + Follow

Instagram + Follow

Spartan The Big Xchange

Spartan The Big Xchange