16+ CR GTD
Header banner - Calling Stn
Pokersaint - Lead
Wilson Lim wins record-breaking APPT Manila Main Event Poker

Wilson Lim wins record-breaking APPT Manila Main Event

by Team Gutshot Posted on 13 Aug, 2018

The Main Event was one of several poker tournaments that were left to be concluded yesterday, which was the last day of the 2018 APPT Manila tournament series. 22 Indians ran deep in the Main Event, with the final 8 of them cashing out a couple of days back and the best ranked player being Sriharsha Dodappaneni, who finished in in 43rd place.

The 1,364-entry field Asia Pacific Poker Tour (APPT) Manila Main Event made this the biggest tournament in Philippines history and thus, the prizes on offer were also huge. The PHP 20 million GTD prize pool was more than tripled as a new prize pool of PHP 65,492,460 (~$1.2+ million) was generated.

Players from 5 different countries constituted the Main Event final table and at the end of it all, it was Singapore’s Wilson Lim who took down the coveted APPT Main Event title, for a massive prize of PHP 12,970,000 (~INR 1.69 crore). The victory took his live poker winnings to the $250k-mark, with just around $5k in live earnings prior to this event.

“I just went all-in blind and then doubled, doubled, doubled up until I ended up as the shortest stack on the final table. Then I became the third chip lead on the table… I feel pretty awesome and also overwhelmed,” Lim said about his journey through the ME and how he felt after this massive win.

He wasn’t even among the top 10 chip stacks when the final 41 players walked out to play on Day 3 of the tournament, so it was a good comeback for him to win this title. We now expect to hear the name of Wilson Lim more often around the Asian live poker circuit.

Final table results:

  1. Wilson Lim – PHP 12,970,000
  2. Yuan Chao Li – PHP 7,960,000
  3. Bin Zhang – PHP 4,745,000
  4. Samuel Welbourne – PHP 3,438,000
  5. Jiang Ho Huang – PHP 2,318,000
  6. Sebastian Wong – PHP 1,664,000
  7. Daesoon Kang – PHP 1,400,000
  8. Kenny Shih – PHP 1,205,000
  9. Jun Zhou – PHP 1,029,000

This concluded a good series for India in Manila, with several achievements like:

Keep reading GutshotMagazine.com for a regular update on the biggest Indian, Asian and global poker tournaments.

poker rooms slim 1

Tagged : 


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Dangal box

Top 10 Poker Rooms

  • Calling Station
    Calling Station

    Instant withdrawal; Use “RELOAD20” on deposits for 20% locked bonus
    Offer: "GUTSHT" Register

  • 9stacks

    Instant withdrawal; 100% locked bonus on first deposit
    Offer: "9GUTSHOT Register

  • PokerSaint

    60-seconds withdrawal; 100% locked bonus on first deposit
    Offer: "GUT100" Register

  • Poker Dangal
    Poker Dangal

    INR 500 Free on sign-up; (425 Locked, 75 Instant)
    Offer: 150% on first deposit up to INR 5,000 Register

  • Natural8

    Sign-up code "GUTSHOT"
    Offer: 200% bonus up to $500 or $100 in instant rewards Register

  • Pocket52

    Offer: NA Register

  • Poker Tempo
    Poker Tempo

    Free Rs. 700 on Signup - 600 Ticket for 1 Lakh GTD tournament, 50 Instant, 50 Locked
    Offer: "WELCOME700" - First deposit bonus of 150% Register

  • PokerStars India
    PokerStars India

    Deposit Rs.500 and get First Deposit Bonus of Rs.2,500 + 5 tickets to Depositor Freerolls
    Offer: "IMIN2500" Register

  • Spartan Poker
    Spartan Poker

    Sign-up with "GUTSHOT"
    Offer: "GUT300X" to get 300% on your deposit Register


    Sign-up with "GSBLZ"
    Offer: NA Register

BSU box banner

Want to share your thoughts about poker?

Then click the button to submit your article.

Facebook + Follow

Instagram + Follow

Pocket52 Ship It Again

Pocket52 Ship It Again